Lemon Curd Tassies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
It's hard to really rate this recipe because the only part that I used was the crust part. After reading so many mixed reviews on the lemon curd part of the recipe, I chose to use the Microwave Lemon Curd recipe from this site. Then I also topped these with a meringue to make them like mini lemon meringue pies. The crust worked wonderfully and was the perfect amount for 24 tassies. After baking, I used a teaspoon to re-indent the cups and they were ready for the filling. Everyone at the party really enjoyed these and they were gone quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I had fun making these with my sister and husband. They were surprisingly easy and soooo tasty. We doubled the lemon zest to 1 tsp, but otherwise, we followed the recipe exactly. Our filling thickened without any problems after we increased the stove heat from "2" to "4." However, we didn't have enough shell, so we re-rolled all the dough to be paper thin and still ended up with 17 tassies instead of 24. As a result, we had lots of extra filling! We put the rest into a small pie crust. This recipe still gets 5 stars because it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
These are little bites of lemon heaven. I did not change a thing to this recipe and my family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Love this recipe, easy to make and decided to double the dough. I have a big family, the first batch was just too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanminded78

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These came out perfectly and were devoured by my guests. The texture of the shells and mild flavor were perfect complements to the tart and smooth lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I gave this three stars because I followed the recipe exactly and the filling would not thicken up no matter what I tried. I was so desperate at one point that I added some corn starch with a little water and they still wouldnt get thick. As far as flavor, they are good but too runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsm103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This review is only for the Lemon Curd. I used a separate recipe for the shell. I will try this shell recipe in the future though. The Lemon Curd is absolutly fabulous. The flavor is just perfect. I did use fresh squeezed lemon juice. And after the 15 minutes cooking time, my filling was still just as soupy as when I started. So I increased the heat and brought it to a quick boil and then removed from heat. It thickend right up. I would have liked it to be a little firmer, so maybe I will increase the boil time when I make again. I live at high altitude so maybe that is why it didn't thicken right. Will definately be used again and again. We love lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLKane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
These are GREAT! Good tart taste and not too hard. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
These were easy to make, but time consuming. I made them in mini muffin tins, so they were a perfect accent on a cookie tray. I did not put the slivered almonds on top, but sprinkled powdered sugar, as I do on lemon bars. That was the perfect sweet tough to the tart lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
This recipe was such a disappointment. I was craving something like this, but alas...it flopped. The curd never thickened...even after filling the tart shells and chilling it. Nice flavor, but sad turnout altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States