Lemon Curd Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
The crust was good, but these turned out waaayyy too sweet. I would cut the sugar in half and add lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This recipe should have baking powder, not baking soda in the bottom crust. Made many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niesgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Made these for my coworkers and they LOVED them!! I would recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I found this recipe when I was searching for a use for extra lemon curd from a Lemon Meringue cupcake recipe (I highly recommend "A Baker's Field Guide to Cupcakes" by Dede Wilson by the way). This lemon bar recipe is simple and delicious! The baked part of the bar is basically a shortbread cookie, which was rich and buttery. On the top we used almonds and coconut, and put it all in a smaller pan for thicker bars. Even though I've been baking all this lemon stuff, I am not normally a big lemon fan. However, homemade lemon curd is so yummy even non-lemon fans are won over by it. I found these bars an excellent use for it and they were a big hit when I brought them to the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
My son helped me with this one. We had no unsalted butter or coconut but it was really good. My son really stirred up the ingredients so it was like dough, no large crumbs for us. It was still great. I think the possiblity is here for this to be fantastic. I wish I knew just what to do. Seemed a little too buttery and not enough zing for our tastes. BUT it had less than 1/2 the fat calories that most of the other lemon goodies. AND, dont get me wrong we did enjoy them and will make them again.We made them for a dinner party and had not a one left. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I used homemade lime curd and although I thought the crust was OK, there was too much of it in my opinion - would have liked more of the tart flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I didn't think the lemon flavor was very strong (used bottled lemon curd) and was wishing I had made a normal lemon bar recipe...defintely not an easier replacement recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Very simple and yummy! Easy to make. Not too tart or sweet. I used more coconut and less almonds. I wll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This recipe rocks!!!! I bake it all the time with my friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Be sure to use the coconut and almonds if you like them; they really make this recipe special. Be sure to press the topping into the lemon curd before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States