Lemon Curd Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Tried it without the baking soda, creamed the butter with a hand mixer and it made a super creamy fudge like bottom. Added 1/4 cup of chocolate chips to the topping. They always get raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Skinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Yum! Love lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I prepared this recipe last night. I made two minor changes -- I used baking powder instead of baking soda and I added lemon zest to the top crumbs. I also used my own lemon curd. The flavor is nice. My feeling is that there is too much butter in it. It feels greasy to the touch. It was also very crumbly. I will make this again with a few changes -- less butter or more flour. I haven't decided. It definitely needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fillmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I didn't use baking powder or baking soda, after reading comments on the recipe, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My husband loved this! I made tis for him on his birthday with special lemon curd Prine William gave to the military when was visiting Ottawa in 2011. Very good consistancy and even my little godchild helped make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
The flavor was very nice. I made the lemon curd from the recipe on this site - Fabulous. However, I rated this 3 stars because it oozed oil. (I wonder if there was an error when the recipe was posted. Could it have meant one cube butter instead of one cup?? The texture of the butter/flour/sugar mixture was like cake frosting, not "course crumbs".) I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Super Awesome!! I followed this recipe as is but I increased the fresh lemon juice to 3/4 cup (cause I like the sour zing), I followed another reviewer's advice and made homemade lemon curd (which is equally as yummy and easy to do), besides, I wanted more lemon filling than crust (just my preference), and I did not add the crust on the top, instead I just coated it with coconut and slivered almonds. These bars are super awesome, forget lemon bars, and here on out will be lemon CURD bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
These bars are great, but I have to say re:the reviewer worried about sodium content of 1/2 tsp of b.soda, for a recipe that makes 40 servings, that is not a whole lot of sodium. If you have kidney disease, it would be a lot, but not in a recipe of this size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Best lemon bars I've made in a long time and I've tried many recipes. Easy too! I also really like it with lime curd...goes well with the coconut. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States