Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
The taste is excellent and it was so easy to make. However, I stirred it on the double boiler for 20 minutes and it didn't thicken at all. No problem, I just put it in a pot over the direct heat, stirred it vigorously and it thickened right up. Also I used a metal whisk (because I didn't read the authors note until I was done cooking), and there is no metallic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was good and really easy to make. It didn't turn out quite as thick as I would have hoped but will work fine for my needs. It's quite sweet - not in a bad way, I love sweet, but when I make lemon-something, I want a bit more tang. I could eat this as a sweet pudding by itself, but I made it to use as a layer in a ricotta-cream 'cake' with lady fingers, and would have liked more tang for this purposes. Still, it's good, no real complaints and I'd probably make again reducing the sugar a little, or upping the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Good, simple, and extremely reliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I used meyer lemons which gave it less of a tang. I like it but prefer the tang. Gave it 5 stars because with regular lemons it would be that for me! Turned out great. If your still having runny curd after 20 minutes of stirring your heat may not be high enough. It should thicken with the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I use this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
i used the microwave, stirring every 5 or 10 seconds. It came out great. It thickened right about 180 degrees. I like to stir it into plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Was looking for a guideline for citrus curd. This worked well and as expected from making lemon curd in the past. Easy to make, plus uses the whole egg, which is great. I used a mixture of lemon, lime, and orange juice and zest. Very colorful. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I just made this and it is great! I just hope I have enough for my company this evening. Cooks privilege to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Wow! This was absolutely great! The fresh lemon I used didn't have enough juice so I added bottled to make the difference. It turned out great! All else fails, always use homemade rather than store bought. We have 3 stores in town that could have had Lemon Curd - 2 stores were out and the third store had 2 jars - "Best if Used By Dates" were 2/2013 and 9/2012-no thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Ww stirred for 20 minutes and it never thickened enough. Chilling didn't help. So we have oversweet, runny lemon sauce with lumps of butter in it. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States