Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Made exactly as written, and it was excellent! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I fell in love with Lemon Curd when my daughter took me to a tea when I visited her in Hawaii. It was the first time I had Lemon Curd and it was wonderful. This recipe is just as wonderful. I just finished making it and it is very easy to make. I did add very slightly over the amount of lemon juice and it took about 15 min to thicken. Also, I only added 1 teaspoon of zest because I decided I wanted it to stay on the creamy side. I will definitely make this again. I guess now I have to make scones to go with it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
So easy! I used 3 lemons as they were small, 2 whole eggs and no lemon zest. Stirred the whole time it was on the stove - no double boiler - and it turned out better than store bought - lots fresher and cheaper. Keeper for sure since I use it in many recipes. Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I used this between the layers and over the top of a simple yellow layer cake, and stacked a bunch of blackberries on top of the whole thing. It was the perfect amount of zing and a lovely consistency... adding just a little more moisture to the cake. I made this pretty close to as written. I used a steel bowl and an oven mitt over a stock pot, and skipped the straining part. This is a great staple recipe to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njohns19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
We loved it! I folded in whipped cream at the end and served it over strawberry and biscuits. I used 2 lemons and some bottled juice the first time, and it was perfect. The second time, I only used 2 lemons, and it was not flavorful enough, so make sure you use enough lemon juice for full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a great recipe for lemon curd, although I increased the lemon zest in mine because I like it extra tart. As I was reading the reviews, I started laughing when I read the review written by luv2cook. I wondered if this reviewer is my twin. Everything s/he said is spot on, and I had planned to say the same things. By all means, please use fresh lemon juice! It's fresher than bottled, it tastes so much better, AND it's cheaper than buying a bottle (or a plastic filled lemon). It's also not really hard to squeeze fresh juice from the lemons. Finally, the zest is really important, so unless you omit it you need fresh lemons. (The essential oils in the zest add a ton of flavor.) Bottom line--lemons are the star of this recipe, so use the best ingredients possible. Likewise, I would caution against using the microwave for this. While it can work, it is very easy to overshoot it and end up with lemony scrambled eggs. There's a very good reason that virtually no curd (or custard) recipe calls for using the microwave. I actually get nervous when I see recipes that instruct one to cook curd/custard directly in a saucepan. Using a saucepan is less risky than the microwave, but I always take the precaution of using a double boiler. No need for special equipment here--a heat proof bowl on top of a saucepan with simmering water works perfectly (make sure the water is low enough not to touch the bottom of the bowl). Yes, this takes a bit longer (but not much), but curds are intended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly93
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I used this for a version of lemon meringue pie, and I added some vanilla bean paste to it. It was a little runny when I was preparing it so I was a little worried but it set up just fine. I piped meringue cookies and filled them with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is my "go to" lemon curd for cake filling. It is most popular flavor after strawberry. It's easy and nearly fool proof. I had trouble getting it to thicken once (thus the 4 stars). It was probably my error somehow. I'm very happy with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was yummy and easy! Really sweet though... I wonder if it would be possible to cut the sugar? I used half this recipe to fold into a lemon mousse. The recipe almost makes 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this this afternoon, but since I do not have a double boiler nor any way to rig one up, I just did it on direct but low flame. I whisked it steadily for about 10 minutes over the heat and it was barely any thicker than when I started but it had thickened a bit. I poured it into a container and stuck it in the fridge. 2 hours later it was like a slightly thin jelly, so it is setting up thicker, but taking its sweet time. Flavor is fantastic though and will make this again for sure. I am curious to know how this would be with slightly less sugar- its super sweet as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Leigh Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States