Lemon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is definitely not a cupcake but muffin. I made these twice and both times turned out the same. Very disappointed. Will use as a muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I used baking soda with all-purpose flour as some suggested, and these turned out very flat. They don't seem to have enough lemon flavor. I'm hoping the frosting adds to the flavor. I baked them ahead for a party, and will frost later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimmie
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Made this exactly according to directions. If you are looking for a cupcake that is light and airy like a box cake, forget it. This tastes homemade, and is a bit more dense. You must use self-rising flour. When I was mixing the batter, it actually reminded me a bit like pound cake batter. Beat the butter and sugar WELL. When adding the flour and milk alternately, start with flour and end with flour. DO NOT over mix at this point. I think that is why some people have trouble. Some people said that it wasn't enough lemon flavor. I disagree. I used fresh grated lemon peel, and not the store bought lemon zest. Two FULL tablespoons was about right. The lemon cream was a nice against the more dense cupcake. Next time, I might put a bit of lemon curd in the middle to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danzig18
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Used buttercream frosting YUM! Doubled the zest and juice! Perfect for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
First off, my results were probably due to my error at some point with this recipe. I thought I followed all exactly as written with the exception of adding 1 tablespoons more lemon juice and 1 teaspoon more zest. Well, the results were that my cupcakes rose majestically while in the oven and fell equally so. I ended up with cupcake craters. I do dislike wasting food so rather than toss them I scraped the edges into the center of the cupcakes and then just covered them up with the frosting. They were by no means the prettiest cakes I ever made but I'm glad I salvaged them as they do taste good. Anyone have any idea why my cakes caved? I've never used the self-rising flour before and live in a high altitude area. I would like to try this recipe again and hope for more visually appealing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
The cake/icing combination is really good! The iciing isn't overwhelming, and the cake is flavorful enough to stand alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshBash
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Fabulous. I didn't have self rising flour, so I made my own, as done by other reviewers (1 tsp. baking powder per every cup of regular flour). Also, I halved the recipe, and it worked perfectly! Sometimes decreasing or increasing the recipes of baked goods turns out wonky, but this worked great. I made lemon vanilla buttercream to go on top instead of the whipped frosting. I found that halving it made 12 perfect cupcakes, but I like mine a little over-full. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I just made these tonight, and I had to make my own self rising flour since we live in Europe. I did not like anything about these cupcakes. I don't know if it's the flour issue but they were pretty bland and seemed to be missing any sweetness. Not something I will make again. Glad I did a test run before I made these for a baby shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
These were absolutely delicious. I made my own self-rising flour with salt and baking powder. Both kids and adults raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States