Lemon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Not impressed. The cupcakes were dry and bland. Fortunately I filled them with a raspberry sauce that gave them flavour so they were edible, but I definitely won't use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Very tasty cake recipe, not too strong of lemon flavor. Butter caused the paper liners to stick, so maybe take advice from others and reduce amount of butter. Also had problems with cupcakes not rising in the center, may have been because I substituted flour/baking soda/salt for the self rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Just made these cupcakes not frosting. The cupcakes are light and airy...the secret is to beat the cream & sugar until it looks like "whipped cream" adding the eggs one at a time is important and then beating them to a "light whipped yellow cream". This incorporates maximum air. Place them in the oven on the second to the bottom rack position as the sugar content is high enough to burn the bottomsat 17 minutes. It does take the full 17 minutes to bake...just saying! Will try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is definitely not a cupcake but muffin.Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I used baking soda with all-purpose flour as some suggested, and these turned out very flat. They don't seem to have enough lemon flavor. I'm hoping the frosting adds to the flavor. I baked them ahead for a party, and will frost later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimmie
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Made this exactly according to directions. If you are looking for a cupcake that is light and airy like a box cake, forget it. This tastes homemade, and is a bit more dense. You must use self-rising flour. When I was mixing the batter, it actually reminded me a bit like pound cake batter. Beat the butter and sugar WELL. When adding the flour and milk alternately, start with flour and end with flour. DO NOT over mix at this point. I think that is why some people have trouble. Some people said that it wasn't enough lemon flavor. I disagree. I used fresh grated lemon peel, and not the store bought lemon zest. Two FULL tablespoons was about right. The lemon cream was a nice against the more dense cupcake. Next time, I might put a bit of lemon curd in the middle to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danzig18
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Used buttercream frosting YUM! Doubled the zest and juice! Perfect for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
First off, my results were probably due to my error at some point with this recipe. I thought I followed all exactly as written with the exception of adding 1 tablespoons more lemon juice and 1 teaspoon more zest. Well, the results were that my cupcakes rose majestically while in the oven and fell equally so. I ended up with cupcake craters. I do dislike wasting food so rather than toss them I scraped the edges into the center of the cupcakes and then just covered them up with the frosting. They were by no means the prettiest cakes I ever made but I'm glad I salvaged them as they do taste good. Anyone have any idea why my cakes caved? I've never used the self-rising flour before and live in a high altitude area. I would like to try this recipe again and hope for more visually appealing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
The cake/icing combination is really good! The iciing isn't overwhelming, and the cake is flavorful enough to stand alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States