Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Made these for "Boss Day". Very well received...was told they belong in a display case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PIZZAMYHEART
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Tasty and refreshing cupcakes! The recipe yielded 24 minis and 6 regular cupcakes. I divided the icing recipe in half and added half an 8 oz container of cream cheese to it. I had just enough icing, so none went to waste. Although I tasted quite a bit while making it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIZZAMYHEART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe using a few of the suggestions, but the texture did not seem quite right for one reason or another. It might be me, or it might be one of the changes I made. Also, some of them were short in the end, so perhaps they just got over-baked. The texture was similar to that of a muffin rather than cupcake. I added more milk and less baking powder as some suggested, but this was the result. I am certain it can be corrected. However, the frosting was amazing. When I tried it, even before the jam, it did not just taste of butter, it was very sweet though. I added more jam than just the 1/2 cup in the end because I wanted a stronger blackberry flavor. The frosting was actually my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon McCafferty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These cupcakes come out pretty dense, with an almost pound cake consistency. The lemon flavor is quite enjoyable. For us, the recipe made 22 cupcakes, but they were dense and did not rise to full size. Because they are rich and dense, this wasn't a problem. The icing recipe makes more than enough to swirl liberally on top to give it height. We would make this again--even my coworkers loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I tried out this recipe not to long ago and it took very short time for prep.I was very happy with the recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This recipe is abselouey a keeper. The cake is moist and the frosting is to die for . This combination is perfect. I think they're the best cupcakes I've ever had... I have one suggestion. Don't put too much frosting on because it is very powerful and you still want to taste the lemon. This is definetly a five star cupcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
These mini-cakes were wonderful. Next time I will skip the icing, no need at all. I cooked them the day ahead for a party and ate 3 right away before I iced them. I had to wrap them up tight to keep from eating more. The second day they weren't as good though. I added lemon extract and vanilla extract. Next time I will cut the vanilla way back to maybe 1/2 tsp. and make a lemon glaze. I WILL be making these again... and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
These were delicious! The pairing was so good. The only change I made was to add Polaner all fruit seedless blackberry spread to the frosting rather than preserves. With so much sugar, I felt the preserves would add too much sweetness. The frosting was still sweet, but deliciously fruit flavored. The cake itself was light and fluffy and had a lovely light vanilla-lemon flavor. I will definitely make this again, although next time I may try adding a few drops of lemon oil to amp up the lemony flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
The 1st time I made these, I messed up the order on the cupcakes, even though I know better, so I thought the fact that they were a little dry and heavy was myu fault. But the second time I made them correctly and they were the same. Flavor is nice, but texture is not great. The frosting however is so fantastic, I would give it 6 starts and no one really noticed that the cupcakes weren't great because I used plenty of frosting to make up for it. This is my new frosting basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States