Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Megan C. A.
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Hi everyone! This is my recipe. Because it's kitchen tested I think the yield may have been modified- my original submission was for mini cupcakes, and I always use a piping bag and tip for frosting (which makes them mile-high, but no one ever seems to complain about it if you catch my drift)! That said, you should carefully watch larger cakes in your oven as this is the time I use for miniature cakes. If the batter seems way too dense, add a bit more milk to your liking, and always remember to use a stand or hand mixer. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan C. A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These are amazing. I made these for Easter and everyone said they were the best cupcakes they'd ever eaten. I only gave this recipe four stars not for ingredients, but for yield. I used regular muffin pans and the recipe only made 19 small cupcakes - I was wondering what they would rise like or I could've made 12. That being said, the frosting recipe makes enough for 3 times what you need...so next time I make this (which will be often!) I will double the cake recipe and half the frosting recipe. The frosting seems too sweet on its own, but don't be fooled - once you put it on a lemon cupcake the flavors balance perfectly! I also added fresh blackberries on top for a pretty garnish to the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Amazingly delicious! 5 stars for taste! Rave reviews from the family. Only change I made was that I used red raspberry preserves instead of blackberry simply because that is what I had. It worked perfectly. So lemony and refreshing - the flavors compliment eachother wonderfully. As written the recipes does NOT produce 24 cupcakes, I got 16 out of mine. I cut the frosting in half and had the perfect amount to frost 16 cupcakes...if I would have made the entire amount of frosting it would have been way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I must be honest that as I mixed up both the cake batter and the frosting I was initially somewhat disappointed with both. The batter, due to the lemon juice, was just a teensy bit on the curdled side but once it was good and mixed it seemed to have corrected. The frosting appeared sticky and gummy, not light, creamy and "cloud-like" as I would have liked. The cupcakes did bake up real pretty, and when I put them together with the frosting I was very pleased. Took a bite of the cake by itself - great lemony vanilla flavor, light and fluffy, with an airy crumb, and very moist, even it being a butter cake! But I do have a criticism - while the cake was indeed moist and airy, it was also somewhat crumbly, unable to support itself with its fragility. Too much baking powder may be to blame -were I to make this again I'd probably reduce it to maybe 1-1/2 teaspoons. The frosting piped on much better than it looked in the bowl, and when I took a forkful of the cake and the frosting together, it was sheer bliss. Very nicely flavored frosting, with neither too much nor too little flavor from the jam. Whether you use blackberry as directed or raspberry as I did, the lemon/berry contrast in this cupcake is a match made in heaven. This falls short of perfection only for the fact that the cake was moist, but crumbly - something easily remedied, I believe, by simply reducing the amount of baking powder. One other critical issue is the yield - I got 14, not 24, standard-sized cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I thought this cupcake was pretty tasty. My lemons were a little on the smaller side so, I used two and had a good lemon flavor. The frosting was a tad too sweet on its own but, had a balance when eaten with the lemon cake. I personally think it would have been better if I added more blackberry jam to it or mixed in fresh pureed blackberries. I'll try that next time! Mmmm. I will also be trying this with different berries in the future. **Note: My first batch of cupcakes came out really dense and flat on top. I tried it again with a new can of baking powder and it made all the difference! Second batch came out nice and fluffy. Make sure your baking powder is still active by placing a half tsp. or so in hot water, it will bubble immediately if still good. Don't go by the exp. date on the can. The first can I used wasn't expired but, barely bubbled. I should've tested it first before I baked that first batch. =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Made the raspberry version and it was DELICIOUS! I cut the whole recipe in half to make 12 cupcakes, and I had the perfect amount of icing (ok, I lied, I had about 1 cupcake's worth of icing left, which I ate. With a spoon.). I had a beautiful swirl of icing on top. The cupcakes didn't fill their whole liner, so I guess they could have made fewer cupcakes then what the recipe called for, and then of course less icing would have been used. But anyways, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very yummy! Substituted strawberry preserves (just my preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgooch73

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennMSing
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made these today to top my Mother's Day off. I had my children help me with this. The cupcakes came out so nice and fluffy, I let them bake for 20 minutes. The buttercream came out great. I think next time I make the buttercream I may add just a tiny squeeze of lemon juice to carry on the lemon in the cupcakes. The taste testers in my house gave an all thumbs up. I just finished mine and I think it is wonderful. It reminds me of the cupcakes I would get from our local cupcake shop. This is my first fully homemade cupcake and I think I am hooked. It took the same amount of time as the box stuff. We have found a new love. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennMSing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I love the cupcakes themselves. I did add more lemon juice since I wanted the flavor to really stand out. They are very dense, so add more milk if you want them to be lighter; leave as is if you want more muffin consistency. Now the frosting... I've made buttercream tons of times, so seeing the ingredients/instructions on this already had me raising an eyebrow. Before I even added the jam, it tasted like nothing but butter. I would never, ever, in my life, make it again. These went to work with me - I work up early to make them and was simply out of time. Not one single person didn't comment on how it tasted just like butter & jam. Most buttercream recipes call for a mix of butter/shortening to avoid the pure butter flavor which I think is exactly where I think the frosting recipe goes wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
SO Good and super easy no fail recipe! Substituted bottled lemon juice & used strawberry preserves in the frosting as it was what was on hand. Combo was like having strawberry lemondade! Same as others said this recipe yielded 16 cupcakes and I made half the recommended frosting and it was plenty. Making as a cake today! Thanks for a great new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States