Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These are amazing. I made these for Easter and everyone said they were the best cupcakes they'd ever eaten. I only gave this recipe four stars not for ingredients, but for yield. I used regular muffin pans and the recipe only made 19 small cupcakes - I was wondering what they would rise like or I could've made 12. That being said, the frosting recipe makes enough for 3 times what you need...so next time I make this (which will be often!) I will double the cake recipe and half the frosting recipe. The frosting seems too sweet on its own, but don't be fooled - once you put it on a lemon cupcake the flavors balance perfectly! I also added fresh blackberries on top for a pretty garnish to the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very yummy! Substituted strawberry preserves (just my preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgooch73

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I am trying cupcake recipes for my brothers wedding. This cupcake is very flavorful and the blackberry frosting is a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Amazingly delicious! 5 stars for taste! Rave reviews from the family. Only change I made was that I used red raspberry preserves instead of blackberry simply because that is what I had. It worked perfectly. So lemony and refreshing - the flavors compliment eachother wonderfully. As written the recipes does NOT produce 24 cupcakes, I got 16 out of mine. I cut the frosting in half and had the perfect amount to frost 16 cupcakes...if I would have made the entire amount of frosting it would have been way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
this was amazing! everyone loved it and i'm making it again this weekend. everyone pretty much had the same opinion "not enough" we literally argued over the last one :D followed some other reviewer's advice and doubled the batter but kept the icing the same, because that was A LOT of icing :) leftover to eat from the bowl though, so I can't say we were disappointed in the least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made these into rainbow cupcakes, and it worked really well! I found the 20-25 min cooking time to be a bit long. I took them out at 20 minutes and those in normal paper-lined pans were a little more burned on the bottom than I would have liked, though the silicon cup ones came out perfectly. As others mentioned, the frosting recipe is huge compared to the cupcake recipe. I doubled the cupcake recipe, which made 24 normal sized cupcakes for me (six of them in silicon cups), and still had a little bowl of frosting left. I'm sure we'll find a use for it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made this as a cake for a co-worker's birthday. Everyone absolutely loved it! Every slice I cut got taken away very quickly, before I knew it, it was all gone. I doubled the cupcake recipe and kept the frosting measurements the same, it made a full two layer cake and plenty of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Delicious ...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shnurp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
The cake is very dense & moist. Didn't rise well but is dense enough that it can hold a filling well. I used 3 tablespoons of lemon juice & 1 tsp of lemon extract. The cupcakes are pretty lemony, but not very 'zingy'. You won't get 24 out of this. Maybe 12 or 14 normal-sized cupcakes. Regarding the frosting, I also cut the recipe in half and got JUST enough frosting for 14 cupcakes. Mixed it with wilton's strawberry filling instead of blackberry jam (I was working with what I had on hand!). Added extra lemon juice, to taste, to the filling to get a bit of zing there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
SO Good and super easy no fail recipe! Substituted bottled lemon juice & used strawberry preserves in the frosting as it was what was on hand. Combo was like having strawberry lemondade! Same as others said this recipe yielded 16 cupcakes and I made half the recommended frosting and it was plenty. Making as a cake today! Thanks for a great new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States