Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I thought that the cup cakes were good, just needed a little bit more lemon flavor. It seems like most lemon cake recoies i run into have great lemon flavor until the cake is cooled. The blackberry buttercream frosting is out of this world good; however it made way too much. I also doubled the cake recpie and made 36 regular size cupcakes and had a lot of frosting left over. I will make these again, maybe with extra lemon juice or extract or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is just a review of the cupcakes, not the frosting, as I had a strawberry lemonade frosting I wanted to use on them. I followed the advice of the original recipe submitter, and made these as mini muffins. It made far more than 24. Eventually I broke down and used most of the remaining batter for six full sized cupcakes. I think perhaps the recipe calls for too much butter. My cupcakes are greasy. The lemon flavor is *extremely* subtle, despite my fears that I used too much zest. I was hoping for more lemon kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Cupcakes would be amazing with a different frosting. This frosting is way too sweet like everyone else said. I halved the recipe like everyone said to do and it was the perfect aount. However, it was the wrong consistency and again, too sweet. Maybe it would be better if you flavor it with fresh berries that have been strained. I tried to add butter and cut down the sugar but i just couldn't get it to be less sweet without making it too buttery. Maybe add heavy cream? The cake was good but the next day it was dense vs fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Good flavor combo but the frosting was too sweet for me. I made 12 full cupcakes and only prepared half the frosting. There was plenty of frosting. I'm a cupcake novice so it was probably my fault by the texture was not good...not fluffy and not moist/dense. Maybe I overbeat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keysha
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I made these cupcakes for a coworkers birthday and they were a huge hit. Here are the changes I made: I doubled the batter (as did many other reviewers) in order to get 24 full sized cupcakes. I also added the juice and zest of extra lemon for additional flavor. I made no changes to the icing. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keysha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Absolutely delish. My family is all very health conscious so I made these in mini muffin tins so each cupcake was only two bites. I sent half the batch to my mothers house and the other half to the in-laws. The only change I made to the recipe was to practically double the amount of blackberry jam... I would taste the frosting, add another spoonful of jam, turn the mixer back on and then taste the frosting again... I'm not sure it was ever quite enough. Eventually I had to stop before it compromised the consistency of the frosting. But that's just me! I topped each cupcake with a fresh blackberry and a lemon balm leaf from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I think they are the most delicious cupcakes I have ever eaten. I will make them for many occasions. Judy 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan C. A.
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Hi everyone! This is my recipe. Because it's kitchen tested I think the yield may have been modified- my original submission was for mini cupcakes, and I always use a piping bag and tip for frosting (which makes them mile-high, but no one ever seems to complain about it if you catch my drift)! That said, you should carefully watch larger cakes in your oven as this is the time I use for miniature cakes. If the batter seems way too dense, add a bit more milk to your liking, and always remember to use a stand or hand mixer. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan C. A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
perfect cake. beautiful flavor. colors are gorgeous! I made them into mini cupcakes and topped with a swirl of the frosting and a raspberry on top. extra cute and tasty. I used mixed berry jam because that's what I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I followed the recipes exactly and found that I needed to add an additional 2 tbs lemon juice to get a nice lemony flavor from the cake... However dense, my cupcakes rose well and had good consistency. As for the frosting, I halved it as others suggested, yet added between 1/2 - 3/4 c. blackberry jam to get a true blackberry-ish flavor. It is also a VERY sweet frosting, but was told that the balance between the cake and the frosting was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States