Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
We loved it! I liked this recipe because it got its lemon flavor from actual lemons vs. lemon pudding or jello. This will be a favorite for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly after finding it on Pinterest. The cupcake was heavy, like poundcake, and the frosting was over the top sweet. Disappointed. I love sweets but this recipe was no good for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is the best cupcake recipe I have ever made. Like others I doubled to recipe for the batter to get 24 normal size cupcakes and single batch of the frosting is more than adequate for all 24 cupcakes. The flavors are bright, fresh and absolutely delicious! The cake is the moistest from scratch cake I have ever been able to achieve there is just nothing bad I can say about this recipe. It is in my opinion perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Pretty good. I can't say that my family really liked them; lemon is such an underrated flavor! The cake part was really tough, it wasn't light and fluffy like you imagine cupcakes to be, it was thick and heavy. But that was okay, it tasted just fine, just made for extra crumbs. For the frosting I didn't have any blackberry jam, so I used blackberry flavored yogurt by yoplait. And ya know what, it worked! I just kept the cupcakes in the fridge, which I would have done anyway because buttercream melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is an AWEOSME recipe! it goes really well gluten-free as well. Thanks for sharing (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this recipe & I used strawberry jelly instead. It was good, but a little too sugary. I also made big cupcakes, so there were only 12, so I halved the frosting. I put a ton of frosting on each cupcake, and half of the frosting was still in the bowl!! yum, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I really loved this recipe. I used cake flour and added the zest and juice of 2 lemons because I wanted a more intense lemon flavour. I also used strawberry jam because that was what I had on hand and it was really yummy. It made 12 cupcakes and I halved the icing and there was still plenty left over. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
simple and delicious! unique twist on a standard cupcake, and they look beautiful when done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Outstanding recipe. I halved the recipe and only got 7 cupcakes. I also did the raspberry jam for the icing. Great results. Lemony flavor and light and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is just a review for the cupcake, I made a lighter, strawberry whipped cream + gelatin frosting instead of the jam buttercream. After the batter was mixed up, I had doubts, it was just too darn easy, there were no whipped egg whites, no multi bowl directions, i.e., having one bowl for egg whites, another for the wet ingredients and another for the dry, this was a one bowl recipe. I diverged just a bit, not in ingredients, those I followed exactly, but in the execution, I mixed in the baking powder before adding the flower and mixed the lemon zest in with the sugar, being sure to squeeze them a bit, hoping to extract even more lemon flavor. The cupcakes didn't rise as much as I expected, I ended up with 12 smallish cupcakes and 4 regular size (after filling the first tray, I decided to fill the baking cups higher on the second batch so that I'd have fuller, above the paper brim cupcakes this time). Before making the frosting, I tested one cupcake, it was light, spongy and had a nice hint of lemony flavor. All in all, a lovely little cake. Since the cakes are so light and airy, I think they could stand up to a heavier frosting, something cream cheese based. I chose a whipped frosting because that is what my family prefers, but a thick, chocolate frosting would be amazing on these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States