Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
So this recipe did work... BUT I gotta admit I was kinda terrified the whole time it was in the oven. The batter was thick, and heavy, and seemed like I was going to end up with little cupcake flavored hockey pucks.... BUT they came out 20min later just perfect! I modified the icing because I fundamentally am against buttercream frosting that doesn't have cream in it - but the addition of the fruit jam was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreannaDrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This recipe was amazing. I did add 13 drops of blue food coloring to the icing to give it a more deep purple tint. I would highly recommend doing this -- it becomes the color of what you think blackberry icing would be. I made mini cupcakes and have eaten so many today it is sinful! On one, I accidentally dropped some crushed dried mint on the top--- took it up to 6 stars. May have to try a leaf of fresh mint under a blackberry for presentation! Do try-- its an amazing combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These are great little cupcakes! I made mine in the mini pan and because I didn't have any blackberries, I just paired it with a lemon frosting. They got a little tough, but I think I might have over-beat them a bit... Still, they were cute and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracieCakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
YUM! Love the blackberry lemon combo. Super easy to make. I might add a little more milk for a lighter version. I thought the blackberry buttercream was fab! A nice change from the strawberry or blueberry you normally see with lemon. Frosted cupcakes looked pretty too! I was able to get 15 standard cupcakes and halved the frosting. (Like many others have previously shared.) Thank you for this recipe! I will be making another batch soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Made these for a bridal shower and they were a big success. My cupcakes (I got 16 out of this recipe) really didn't rise much - in fact after they cooled they were pretty darn flat. Having said that, once I put the frosting on it didn't really matter and they did taste good. My lemons were on the small side, so I used two. It was warm when I made the frosting and I ended up adding more sugar as it seemed too runny to pipe on the cupcakes. Really nice blackberry flavor from the jam. I will try raspberry next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I'm only rating the frosting because I didn't make this recipe for the lemon cake. The frosting was fabulous! I did add about another 1/4 cup of blackberry jam and it did soften it up a tiny bit. It was a crowd pleaser and will be a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
The cake texture was great, dense but not too heavy. We could really taste the lemon flavor. I made two 9in rounds, baked at the same temp just a little longer. The edges were a little overcooked, so next time I will drop the oven temp down a little, but the rest of the cake was perfect. I didn't make the frosting from this recipe, but used another, and added the blackberry preserves. It was good, I think I am just on the fence about blackberry in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
We loved it! I liked this recipe because it got its lemon flavor from actual lemons vs. lemon pudding or jello. This will be a favorite for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly after finding it on Pinterest. The cupcake was heavy, like poundcake, and the frosting was over the top sweet. Disappointed. I love sweets but this recipe was no good for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is the best cupcake recipe I have ever made. Like others I doubled to recipe for the batter to get 24 normal size cupcakes and single batch of the frosting is more than adequate for all 24 cupcakes. The flavors are bright, fresh and absolutely delicious! The cake is the moistest from scratch cake I have ever been able to achieve there is just nothing bad I can say about this recipe. It is in my opinion perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States