Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Be sure to use a large lemon for this recipe. After reading numerous reviews about how there wasn't enough lemon flavor I can only conclude some people must not be using a large enough lemon or they must not be adding the lemon zest. I doubled this recipe and was able to make 27 cupcakes. After reading some reviews I cut back the baking soda to 1.5 tsps which isn't very substantial but since it was my first time working with this recipe I didn't want to alter anything. I was thrown a bit by the buttercream ingredients (only butter and sugar), so I used my own recipe and added jam to it. Came out great. Cupcakes were light and fluffy. If you find them dense or flat, be sure to check your baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwyn
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
These are delicious! One minor gripe: it only makes 18 small cupcakes. I'll definitely double it next time. I made half Blackberry and half Raspberry Buttercream. Personally, I like the Raspberry more, but I'm biased, lol. Amazing recipe, though! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
These cupcakes were incredibly thick, with the consistency of a pound cake which, although being tasty in its own right, was not what I was looking for in a cupcake recipe. On top of this, the icing separated no matter what I tried. It's not likely that I will be making this recipe again except perhaps in the form of a glazed pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
So this recipe did work... BUT I gotta admit I was kinda terrified the whole time it was in the oven. The batter was thick, and heavy, and seemed like I was going to end up with little cupcake flavored hockey pucks.... BUT they came out 20min later just perfect! I modified the icing because I fundamentally am against buttercream frosting that doesn't have cream in it - but the addition of the fruit jam was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreannaDrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This recipe was amazing. I did add 13 drops of blue food coloring to the icing to give it a more deep purple tint. I would highly recommend doing this -- it becomes the color of what you think blackberry icing would be. I made mini cupcakes and have eaten so many today it is sinful! On one, I accidentally dropped some crushed dried mint on the top--- took it up to 6 stars. May have to try a leaf of fresh mint under a blackberry for presentation! Do try-- its an amazing combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These are great little cupcakes! I made mine in the mini pan and because I didn't have any blackberries, I just paired it with a lemon frosting. They got a little tough, but I think I might have over-beat them a bit... Still, they were cute and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracieCakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
YUM! Love the blackberry lemon combo. Super easy to make. I might add a little more milk for a lighter version. I thought the blackberry buttercream was fab! A nice change from the strawberry or blueberry you normally see with lemon. Frosted cupcakes looked pretty too! I was able to get 15 standard cupcakes and halved the frosting. (Like many others have previously shared.) Thank you for this recipe! I will be making another batch soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Made these for a bridal shower and they were a big success. My cupcakes (I got 16 out of this recipe) really didn't rise much - in fact after they cooled they were pretty darn flat. Having said that, once I put the frosting on it didn't really matter and they did taste good. My lemons were on the small side, so I used two. It was warm when I made the frosting and I ended up adding more sugar as it seemed too runny to pipe on the cupcakes. Really nice blackberry flavor from the jam. I will try raspberry next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I'm only rating the frosting because I didn't make this recipe for the lemon cake. The frosting was fabulous! I did add about another 1/4 cup of blackberry jam and it did soften it up a tiny bit. It was a crowd pleaser and will be a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
The cake texture was great, dense but not too heavy. We could really taste the lemon flavor. I made two 9in rounds, baked at the same temp just a little longer. The edges were a little overcooked, so next time I will drop the oven temp down a little, but the rest of the cake was perfect. I didn't make the frosting from this recipe, but used another, and added the blackberry preserves. It was good, I think I am just on the fence about blackberry in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States