Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
The cupcakes were good, the frosting was strange and granual, not sure why, the flavor wasn't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
These are a really nice texture and the flavour is great! I used coconut almond milk and lactose free margarine (Becel Vegan). For the icing I used 1/2 C raspberries, 3 C icing sugar, and 1/2 C shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
These were quite good but not as lemony as I would have liked. On the second go-round, I added lemon extract 1.5 tsp and just 1 tsp vanilla extract plus a little extra lemon zest (from 3 small lemons). I did this with the raspberry jam/berries for the icing as this is what I had on hand. The result was like a little cake version of raspberry lemonade. Very light and refreshing. The cupcake is not that sweet, but the icing complements it perfectly. The cupcake recipe makes 12 regular cupcakes and needed about 3/4 of the icing recipe for the perfect amount of decoration & flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These cupcakes were really moist and very tasty. I like a strong lemon flavor so I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup and added the zest of one and a half lemons and the juice of two. They came out VERY lemony this way, which is how I like it. I also used unsalted butter and took them out after 18 minutes and let them cool in the pan. I live in a high altitude so the less sugar and salt put in baking, the better the product rises. The recipe also only yielded 12 average sized cupcakes for me. For the frosting, I used frozen raspberries and I let them sit over night in the fridge, so all the juices came out. I only used half a cup unsalted butter, mixed the raspberries with the butter in the mixer and eyeballed the powdered sugar; it came out to be about 4 cups though. All in all, this is a really good base for delicious cupcakes and it was very forgiving with all the changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was a great recipe and my family really enjoyed it. I added a little extra milk to get a looser "cake" consistency in the batter and also added 2 tsps of pure lemon extract on top of the juice to jazz up the lemon flavor. I used normal size cupcake pans and got 14 cupcakes. As for the frosting-- I thought it was phenomenal. I can't stand super greasy, Crisco based frostings. Ugh. So I didn't change the butter at all. I did use slightly less jam (I used home made and it's a lot more flavorful than store bought), then put in 1/4 tsp of raspberry flavoring and 2 tbslspns honey in the frosting after all the sugar was added. It was KILLER and very flavorful. I'd maybe reduce the powdered sugar by 1/2 cup in the future because it was super sweet. But it's frosting-- it's supposed to be sweet! Really great recipe though. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
The cake came out really dense. I doubled the cake portion due to other reviewers and it was enough to make ~26 full sized cupcakes. I kept the frosting proportion as is and it was just enough. Interesting flavors, but it wasn't a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My girls loved this. Had to add more sugar to buttercream but I used my own homemade jam. froze the leftover icing and everyone loves it. I halved the recipe and got only 9 cupcakes which I expected. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill David

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Good lemony flavor. The jam in the icing was a nice change. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Be sure to use a large lemon for this recipe. After reading numerous reviews about how there wasn't enough lemon flavor I can only conclude some people must not be using a large enough lemon or they must not be adding the lemon zest. I doubled this recipe and was able to make 27 cupcakes. After reading some reviews I cut back the baking soda to 1.5 tsps which isn't very substantial but since it was my first time working with this recipe I didn't want to alter anything. I was thrown a bit by the buttercream ingredients (only butter and sugar), so I used my own recipe and added jam to it. Came out great. Cupcakes were light and fluffy. If you find them dense or flat, be sure to check your baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwyn
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
These are delicious! One minor gripe: it only makes 18 small cupcakes. I'll definitely double it next time. I made half Blackberry and half Raspberry Buttercream. Personally, I like the Raspberry more, but I'm biased, lol. Amazing recipe, though! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States