Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is just a review for the cupcake, I made a lighter, strawberry whipped cream + gelatin frosting instead of the jam buttercream. After the batter was mixed up, I had doubts, it was just too darn easy, there were no whipped egg whites, no multi bowl directions, i.e., having one bowl for egg whites, another for the wet ingredients and another for the dry, this was a one bowl recipe. I diverged just a bit, not in ingredients, those I followed exactly, but in the execution, I mixed in the baking powder before adding the flower and mixed the lemon zest in with the sugar, being sure to squeeze them a bit, hoping to extract even more lemon flavor. The cupcakes didn't rise as much as I expected, I ended up with 12 smallish cupcakes and 4 regular size (after filling the first tray, I decided to fill the baking cups higher on the second batch so that I'd have fuller, above the paper brim cupcakes this time). Before making the frosting, I tested one cupcake, it was light, spongy and had a nice hint of lemony flavor. All in all, a lovely little cake. Since the cakes are so light and airy, I think they could stand up to a heavier frosting, something cream cheese based. I chose a whipped frosting because that is what my family prefers, but a thick, chocolate frosting would be amazing on these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I wasn't a fan of the jelly in the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Loved this recipe! Followed it exactly except i used blueberry spreadable fruit instead of the blackberry jam. Definatly will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I tried this recipe, the cupcakes did not turn out as I expected. They were falling apart. So to the next batch I added 2 cups of flour and it worked much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made these for a friend's birthday and they all loved them! they really came out great and were definitely delicious! I added more lemon since I had more than the recipe called for and replaced the blackberry buttercream frosting for a cream cheese one with lemon zest as garnish! Bon appetit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
So delicious, I loved the frosting and wish I had made it into a layer cake because I wanted more frosting after the top was eaten. I did have to add some hot water to the jar to get the last of the jam out and to also thin the frosting . I halved the recipe on the frosting and the cupcakes, I actually put all the normal amount of cupcake recipe in 12 cupcake tins. Ok so I didnt read the quantity it makes. They were huge and so good. My boys loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I love the cupcakes themselves. I did add more lemon juice since I wanted the flavor to really stand out. They are very dense, so add more milk if you want them to be lighter; leave as is if you want more muffin consistency. Now the frosting... I've made buttercream tons of times, so seeing the ingredients/instructions on this already had me raising an eyebrow. Before I even added the jam, it tasted like nothing but butter. I would never, ever, in my life, make it again. These went to work with me - I work up early to make them and was simply out of time. Not one single person didn't comment on how it tasted just like butter & jam. Most buttercream recipes call for a mix of butter/shortening to avoid the pure butter flavor which I think is exactly where I think the frosting recipe goes wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I must be honest that as I mixed up both the cake batter and the frosting I was initially somewhat disappointed with both. The batter, due to the lemon juice, was just a teensy bit on the curdled side but once it was good and mixed it seemed to have corrected. The frosting appeared sticky and gummy, not light, creamy and "cloud-like" as I would have liked. The cupcakes did bake up real pretty, and when I put them together with the frosting I was very pleased. Took a bite of the cake by itself - great lemony vanilla flavor, light and fluffy, with an airy crumb, and very moist, even it being a butter cake! But I do have a criticism - while the cake was indeed moist and airy, it was also somewhat crumbly, unable to support itself with its fragility. Too much baking powder may be to blame -were I to make this again I'd probably reduce it to maybe 1-1/2 teaspoons. The frosting piped on much better than it looked in the bowl, and when I took a forkful of the cake and the frosting together, it was sheer bliss. Very nicely flavored frosting, with neither too much nor too little flavor from the jam. Whether you use blackberry as directed or raspberry as I did, the lemon/berry contrast in this cupcake is a match made in heaven. This falls short of perfection only for the fact that the cake was moist, but crumbly - something easily remedied, I believe, by simply reducing the amount of baking powder. One other critical issue is the yield - I got 14, not 24, standard-sized cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I thought this cupcake was pretty tasty. My lemons were a little on the smaller side so, I used two and had a good lemon flavor. The frosting was a tad too sweet on its own but, had a balance when eaten with the lemon cake. I personally think it would have been better if I added more blackberry jam to it or mixed in fresh pureed blackberries. I'll try that next time! Mmmm. I will also be trying this with different berries in the future. **Note: My first batch of cupcakes came out really dense and flat on top. I tried it again with a new can of baking powder and it made all the difference! Second batch came out nice and fluffy. Make sure your baking powder is still active by placing a half tsp. or so in hot water, it will bubble immediately if still good. Don't go by the exp. date on the can. The first can I used wasn't expired but, barely bubbled. I should've tested it first before I baked that first batch. =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States