Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great recipe, but considering other reviews I modified as follows: I doubled the cake portion, which turned out perfect for 24 moderately sized cupcakes; and for the frosting I used 1/2C butter and 1/2C vegetable shortening rather than the full cup of butter. It was exactly enough frosting for the 24 cupcakes. I should note that I also substituted light almond milk for the low fat milk, and a vegan butter replacement for regular butter due to a milk allergy, and it turned out fine (the vegan butter substitute won't be fluffy when you cream it with sugar to start the cake batter, but it didn't seem to have any impact on the finished product).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Absolutely fab. Baked these for my granddaughters day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I had such high hopes. But the frosting ruined it for me. I couldn't really taste the blackberry over the flavor of the butter. I even ended up adding more jam and I am still not pleased with it. I think maybe it would have been much better as a whipped cream buttercream. It would have lightened it up and let the blackberry flavor come through more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessed momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I ended up with a lot of extra frosting but it was so good people ate it straight. Don't change a thing. One thing to note: I made this a second time, halving the icing recipe and I used natural/organic butter (Kerigold)... I needed to add more than necessary to get it to whip up properly. Tasted great though, it just needed 2-3 extra tablespoons of butter. When I made it with normal (land o' lakes) I didn't need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Fantastic cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
The cupcakes were good, the frosting was strange and granual, not sure why, the flavor wasn't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
These are a really nice texture and the flavour is great! I used coconut almond milk and lactose free margarine (Becel Vegan). For the icing I used 1/2 C raspberries, 3 C icing sugar, and 1/2 C shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
These were quite good but not as lemony as I would have liked. On the second go-round, I added lemon extract 1.5 tsp and just 1 tsp vanilla extract plus a little extra lemon zest (from 3 small lemons). I did this with the raspberry jam/berries for the icing as this is what I had on hand. The result was like a little cake version of raspberry lemonade. Very light and refreshing. The cupcake is not that sweet, but the icing complements it perfectly. The cupcake recipe makes 12 regular cupcakes and needed about 3/4 of the icing recipe for the perfect amount of decoration & flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These cupcakes were really moist and very tasty. I like a strong lemon flavor so I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup and added the zest of one and a half lemons and the juice of two. They came out VERY lemony this way, which is how I like it. I also used unsalted butter and took them out after 18 minutes and let them cool in the pan. I live in a high altitude so the less sugar and salt put in baking, the better the product rises. The recipe also only yielded 12 average sized cupcakes for me. For the frosting, I used frozen raspberries and I let them sit over night in the fridge, so all the juices came out. I only used half a cup unsalted butter, mixed the raspberries with the butter in the mixer and eyeballed the powdered sugar; it came out to be about 4 cups though. All in all, this is a really good base for delicious cupcakes and it was very forgiving with all the changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was a great recipe and my family really enjoyed it. I added a little extra milk to get a looser "cake" consistency in the batter and also added 2 tsps of pure lemon extract on top of the juice to jazz up the lemon flavor. I used normal size cupcake pans and got 14 cupcakes. As for the frosting-- I thought it was phenomenal. I can't stand super greasy, Crisco based frostings. Ugh. So I didn't change the butter at all. I did use slightly less jam (I used home made and it's a lot more flavorful than store bought), then put in 1/4 tsp of raspberry flavoring and 2 tbslspns honey in the frosting after all the sugar was added. It was KILLER and very flavorful. I'd maybe reduce the powdered sugar by 1/2 cup in the future because it was super sweet. But it's frosting-- it's supposed to be sweet! Really great recipe though. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States