Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was a great recipe and my family really enjoyed it. I added a little extra milk to get a looser "cake" consistency in the batter and also added 2 tsps of pure lemon extract on top of the juice to jazz up the lemon flavor. I used normal size cupcake pans and got 14 cupcakes. As for the frosting-- I thought it was phenomenal. I can't stand super greasy, Crisco based frostings. Ugh. So I didn't change the butter at all. I did use slightly less jam (I used home made and it's a lot more flavorful than store bought), then put in 1/4 tsp of raspberry flavoring and 2 tbslspns honey in the frosting after all the sugar was added. It was KILLER and very flavorful. I'd maybe reduce the powdered sugar by 1/2 cup in the future because it was super sweet. But it's frosting-- it's supposed to be sweet! Really great recipe though. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
The cake came out really dense. I doubled the cake portion due to other reviewers and it was enough to make ~26 full sized cupcakes. I kept the frosting proportion as is and it was just enough. Interesting flavors, but it wasn't a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My girls loved this. Had to add more sugar to buttercream but I used my own homemade jam. froze the leftover icing and everyone loves it. I halved the recipe and got only 9 cupcakes which I expected. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill David

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Good lemony flavor. The jam in the icing was a nice change. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Be sure to use a large lemon for this recipe. After reading numerous reviews about how there wasn't enough lemon flavor I can only conclude some people must not be using a large enough lemon or they must not be adding the lemon zest. I doubled this recipe and was able to make 27 cupcakes. After reading some reviews I cut back the baking soda to 1.5 tsps which isn't very substantial but since it was my first time working with this recipe I didn't want to alter anything. I was thrown a bit by the buttercream ingredients (only butter and sugar), so I used my own recipe and added jam to it. Came out great. Cupcakes were light and fluffy. If you find them dense or flat, be sure to check your baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwyn
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
These are delicious! One minor gripe: it only makes 18 small cupcakes. I'll definitely double it next time. I made half Blackberry and half Raspberry Buttercream. Personally, I like the Raspberry more, but I'm biased, lol. Amazing recipe, though! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
These cupcakes were incredibly thick, with the consistency of a pound cake which, although being tasty in its own right, was not what I was looking for in a cupcake recipe. On top of this, the icing separated no matter what I tried. It's not likely that I will be making this recipe again except perhaps in the form of a glazed pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
So this recipe did work... BUT I gotta admit I was kinda terrified the whole time it was in the oven. The batter was thick, and heavy, and seemed like I was going to end up with little cupcake flavored hockey pucks.... BUT they came out 20min later just perfect! I modified the icing because I fundamentally am against buttercream frosting that doesn't have cream in it - but the addition of the fruit jam was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreannaDrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This recipe was amazing. I did add 13 drops of blue food coloring to the icing to give it a more deep purple tint. I would highly recommend doing this -- it becomes the color of what you think blackberry icing would be. I made mini cupcakes and have eaten so many today it is sinful! On one, I accidentally dropped some crushed dried mint on the top--- took it up to 6 stars. May have to try a leaf of fresh mint under a blackberry for presentation! Do try-- its an amazing combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These are great little cupcakes! I made mine in the mini pan and because I didn't have any blackberries, I just paired it with a lemon frosting. They got a little tough, but I think I might have over-beat them a bit... Still, they were cute and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracieCakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States