Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I just made this recipe and it is so yummy, everyone in the family loved them. The fresher the lemon the better the flavor. I was only able to get 14 cupcakes out of one batch. And the frosting was amazing, I added 3 1/2 cups of confectioner sugar instead of 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe. I used it as a cake for my mom's 70th birthday celebration. Everyone raved about it. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEANA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
My new favorite cupcake. The flavor of the frosting is out of this world. The proportions are off...but it's easily fixed. Double the cake recipe and do 1 1/2 For the frosting. That'll make about 26-27 regular cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AM+EM
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
These were fabulous! I couldn't stop eating them. These were for a party with red and blue as colors, so I used raspberry jam and put a blueberry on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I like the cake itself but the frosting comes out really thin and makes it hard to put it on cupcakes. I have also made this recipe as a cake and so far it turned out fine.I have tried 2x now with the same results. It'd you have any suggestions on how to make it a thicker frosting please let me know. I wanted to make this for my daughter's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
First of all, these were delicious! Even the batter was some of the tastiest I've ever licked out of the bowl. I thought I was putting too much lemon juice in, but it was just perfect. The cupcake itself was delightfully lemony. I made jumbo cupcakes (six to a pan), and I had some batter left over. I cut the icing recipe in half and probably put too much on the cupcakes...it was far too sweet and everyone had to scrape some off the top. I felt a little sick after eating one, but that might have been because I ate a glob of the frosting that I had left over. I think if I actually had a normal cupcake pan around and made twelve, spreading the icing evenly over those instead of just six, these would have been perfect. I will definitely make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made these for a baby shower. I wanted something different from the standard vanilla or chocolate that people make. These were amazing! They were easy to make and I loved how my house smelled like summer! My guests gobbled them up. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHPFVR
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great recipe, but considering other reviews I modified as follows: I doubled the cake portion, which turned out perfect for 24 moderately sized cupcakes; and for the frosting I used 1/2C butter and 1/2C vegetable shortening rather than the full cup of butter. It was exactly enough frosting for the 24 cupcakes. I should note that I also substituted light almond milk for the low fat milk, and a vegan butter replacement for regular butter due to a milk allergy, and it turned out fine (the vegan butter substitute won't be fluffy when you cream it with sugar to start the cake batter, but it didn't seem to have any impact on the finished product).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Absolutely fab. Baked these for my granddaughters day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I had such high hopes. But the frosting ruined it for me. I couldn't really taste the blackberry over the flavor of the butter. I even ended up adding more jam and I am still not pleased with it. I think maybe it would have been much better as a whipped cream buttercream. It would have lightened it up and let the blackberry flavor come through more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessed momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States