Lemon Crumb Muffins Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made these today & they are amazing! I did make a few changes: I used French Vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream and also added lemon extract. For the topping, I mixed brown sugar, white sugar & lemon zest then sprinkled that on top before baking. From this recipe, I made 24 mini muffins, 12 regular sized muffins then, with the leftover batter, I added frozen blueberries & made 2 lemon blueberry loaves! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I have made this recipe twice; on the second time around I made a few changes that made a delicious difference. I halved the recipe, and used low fat sour cream, then I added the juice of 1 1/2 lemons to the batter, I tasted the batter to make sure it had the tang of lemon before I was satisfied. I used the full recipe for the crumb topping, in other words doubled it for a halved recipe. When the muffins came out of the oven I drizzled a glaze of fresh squeezed lemon juice and powdered sugar over the top and in the crevices of the warm muffins, it made them even moister and more lemony. I will make this recipe over and over for my family and gifts for friends. If you love lemon you will love these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriLouise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
By far the best lemon muffins I've ever made. I made a few changes to reduce fat and calories and use up what I had on hand. I only made 1/2 the batch which produced 24 muffins. I used 2T of butter with 1 cup unsweet applesauce and plain nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream. Also I reduced the eggs to 3 and the sugar by 1/4 c. So perfectly sweet tart tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made half of the recipe and wish I had made the whole thing! Not a light muffin, a yummy, rich, heavy piece of deliciousness! Can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe was originally published in Taste of Home and I noticed that it leaves out the most vital step of the whole muffin experience! There is supposed to be a Lemon Juice/Sugar syrup that you drizzle over the warm muffins. Believe me, this is so important to make these muffins top notch. They already have a beautiful texture and light lemon flavor, but the sweet tang of the syrup takes these over the top! For the full batch, the original TOH glaze recipe calls for 1/2 cup sugar and 1/3 cup lemon juice. Mix to dissolve the sugar, then drizzle over your warm muffins. I sometimes warm the sugar syrup in the microwave a bit to dissolve the sugar, and I always drizzle the muffins while they are still in the pan because this sends the syrup down the sides of the muffin and creates a wonderful experience in your mouth when you finally have a bite! Plus, it's less messy overall, keep the mess in the pan right! They are easy to take out of the pan, too! I made the entire batch one day and couldn't bake them all that evening, so I saved the remaining batter overnight and baked them the next morning and I had no issues with them rising at all. Also, if I have plain or flavored yogurt to use up, I use that in place of the sour cream. I've made these many times according to the recipe and I find that I like more lemon flavor, so I add 2 - 3 tsp of Lemon Extract to the batter with a little more lemon juice as well. Very forgiving recipe and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Soooo Good! I halved the whole recipe exept for the lemon zest and lemon juice (I substituted the lemon juice with lemon extract). Some reviewers said it was a tad dry but I didn't think so. Maybe next time add a splash of milk and see what happens. Also I added some lemon zest to the crumb topping. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I loved this recipe. I made a recipe for 15 muffins. Not the healthiest muffin but we all need some indulgence from time to time. But just to feel less guilty, I did substitute half of the flour for whole wheat flour and I used fat free sour cream. I don't think I had enough lemon zest on hand but used what I had and they turned out moist and full of lemony deliciousness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne Mostert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I too made a few changes: Since I didn't have any sour cream, I used yogurt instead. Added a little vanilla, used one medium lemon's zest for 8 muffins, and I totally forgot to add lemon juice. I also put a little amount of the lemon zest to the crumbs mix. Both me and my mother agreed the result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElfS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I am appreciating the bounty of a friends lime crop. I did what another chef did- halved the recipe but kept the full amount of crumb and drizzled lime juice and powdered sugar on top. I added more juice and zest than the recipe called for cuz I am in to tang. These muffin are amazing- they are so much better than those little costco lime bites. Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Sooo good! Nice and moist. We didn't even add the crumb topping. Just the juice of an extra lemon like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States