Lemon Crumb Muffins Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The muffins had a great base and they came out wonderfully, but I don't find them to be that phenomenal. Without the crumb topping they would have been very boring. If I ever make them again I think I'll add some more lemon to it; the flavor was rather faint in the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ballet4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made these today & they are amazing! I did make a few changes: I used French Vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream and also added lemon extract. For the topping, I mixed brown sugar, white sugar & lemon zest then sprinkled that on top before baking. From this recipe, I made 24 mini muffins, 12 regular sized muffins then, with the leftover batter, I added frozen blueberries & made 2 lemon blueberry loaves! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Soooo Good! I halved the whole recipe exept for the lemon zest and lemon juice (I substituted the lemon juice with lemon extract). Some reviewers said it was a tad dry but I didn't think so. Maybe next time add a splash of milk and see what happens. Also I added some lemon zest to the crumb topping. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I have made this recipe twice; on the second time around I made a few changes that made a delicious difference. I halved the recipe, and used low fat sour cream, then I added the juice of 1 1/2 lemons to the batter, I tasted the batter to make sure it had the tang of lemon before I was satisfied. I used the full recipe for the crumb topping, in other words doubled it for a halved recipe. When the muffins came out of the oven I drizzled a glaze of fresh squeezed lemon juice and powdered sugar over the top and in the crevices of the warm muffins, it made them even moister and more lemony. I will make this recipe over and over for my family and gifts for friends. If you love lemon you will love these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriLouise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I loved this recipe. I made a recipe for 15 muffins. Not the healthiest muffin but we all need some indulgence from time to time. But just to feel less guilty, I did substitute half of the flour for whole wheat flour and I used fat free sour cream. I don't think I had enough lemon zest on hand but used what I had and they turned out moist and full of lemony deliciousness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I too made a few changes: Since I didn't have any sour cream, I used yogurt instead. Added a little vanilla, used one medium lemon's zest for 8 muffins, and I totally forgot to add lemon juice. I also put a little amount of the lemon zest to the crumbs mix. Both me and my mother agreed the result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElfS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I am appreciating the bounty of a friends lime crop. I did what another chef did- halved the recipe but kept the full amount of crumb and drizzled lime juice and powdered sugar on top. I added more juice and zest than the recipe called for cuz I am in to tang. These muffin are amazing- they are so much better than those little costco lime bites. Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
By far the best lemon muffins I've ever made. I made a few changes to reduce fat and calories and use up what I had on hand. I only made 1/2 the batch which produced 24 muffins. I used 2T of butter with 1 cup unsweet applesauce and plain nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream. Also I reduced the eggs to 3 and the sugar by 1/4 c. So perfectly sweet tart tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Sooo good! Nice and moist. We didn't even add the crumb topping. Just the juice of an extra lemon like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
yummy! but the serving size must refer to small muffins. using large/jumbo cupcake liners, when i halved this recipe I only got 12 muffins out of it. tasty! I increased the heat to 425 degrees and baked about 20 minutes for a nice rise on the muffins. also added finely chopped pecans, bout 1/2 a cup to the recipe. since i was low on sour cream, i subbed vanilla yogurt and sour milk. also, i used oil in place of the butter in the muffin batter. next time i will use only two eggs, though- it was a little dense. will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States