Lemon Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Wonderful cake filling! I adjusted the recipe as well using 4 T. of cornstarch and adding extra lemon juice. 1/4 to 1/2 C. or to taste. Filled a birthday cake and it was amazing! Family loved it! The picture shows it as an icing but it is really a filling. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I made this for a lemon cake I made. Delish! It was quick to make and easy to pour on cake. The recipe makes a lot, probably two cups of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgaine1984

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I added zest of 1 med-large lemon. I also reduced the sugar to 1C & reduced the butter to 1/4C, just because I didn't see the need for all of that extra saturated fat & sugar. Came out tasting like the lemon curd from a meringue pie (only better, imo) Yummy, yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I was making a lemon cake and wanted to make a frosting since I didn't buy any. This glaze/frosting is so yummy. It could be used as a filling or a glaze. I didn't have enough lemons for 1/2 cup so I also used an orange. I added lemon and grapefruit zest while cooking. It's really citrusy and yummy! I poked holes in my cake so it could seep down a bit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I grew up with my nana making something almost exactly the same except for the cornstarch. we put it on toast or english muffins. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
this is very good! and came out to the right thickness for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittknight

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Really good. I didn't have real lemons for juice, so I used the little yellow bottled kind, which doesn't really taste like fresh, so upon tasting at the end while it was cooling, I felt it needed something, so I added about 1/4tsp of real lemon extract, and stirred it in. That did the trick! So good! I used it as a filling in a chiffon cake, and I spread it on before it was completely cool, and I think a lot soaked into the cake, so I would let it cool completely before adding to the cake next time. Also, it made quite a lot, I used it in a 9x11 sheet cake, and used it for filling, and I had about 2 cups left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This turned out really well. I spread it on top of the lemon fluff cake, and it tasted great. I have some left over, so I think I'll make some tarts with it tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SizzleCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is fabulous. Don't change a thing. This is so good it could be used as a stand alone pie filling if the recipe is doubled. Wow. We loved it! Perfect flavor. Tart and sweet and exactly what the recipe claims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
The flavor is outstanding. But sooo MUCH butter!!!! It was floating on top. I did cut down on the butter the 2nd time I made it. Still an excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mad River, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States