Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
People are all over the map with the amount of sugar; and I must say for our preference it is way too much. We really like a strong cream cheese flavour, and I like this recipe because it calls for lemon which really seals the deal! I wonder if people who are having issues with consistency are using light or spreadable cream cheese? I used 2 blocks of regular cream cheese, softened on a low setting in the mic, then eyeballed and tasted as I added the sugar, but likely used about 2 cups. Consistency was great, could have piped but just spread on with a knife. On carrot cake (Uncle Sam's from this website, also very versatile in terms of ingredients). Absolutely delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Great recipe! Used it on my lemon cupcakes and they came out beautiful! I didn't listen to other reviewers since I knew that the amount of sugar is for consistency. This is NOT A GLAZE! This is a delicious FROSTING! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superspoiled

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly only I used orange zest and juice. It's phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
this was delicious! i think the key is to taste test it as you go, I added a bit less icing sugar and more cream cheese & lemon and zest than called for, and only a couple drops of vanilla, and really it was AMAZING! i cut the recipe in half and it was perfect to ice the top of a decent sized (lemon) birthday cake - my fam loved it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I rated it a 4 but would have rated it a 5 if it called for less sugar. I only used 1 cup of powdered sugar as someone else suggested. I made this with the 5 ounces (about 1 cup) and it was perfect. I loved the bright flavor. I used this on a lemon poppy seed cake and it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The consistency probably would've been perfect if I had used the 5 cups, perhaps 4.5. I ran out of powdered sugar and iced my bottom layer and had to go out for more because 3.5 cups was not enough to make it thick enough. Delicious tasting. I used the yellow cake recipe from an old Betty Crocker cookbook and added lemon zest and juice per their directions. My cake cooked too long and I ended up using a simple syrup with raspberry jam over my leveled off sides to moisten it. One of my better cakes I believe and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
i tried the icing but it was too thin is there any way it can be thicker ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
It may have been my mistake but I added 1/2 cup butter instead of 1/4 in error. I also forgot the vanilla and used only 1 Tab lemon juice. I loved the taste it was wonderful BUT I totally could not pipe it - it seemed more like a thick glaze. I put it in the refrigerator for a while thinking that would make it get stiffer but it didn't. I saved the rest to use as a glaze for a lemon Bundt cake but for a frosting I pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is the best frosting I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
WOW!! SO DELICIOUS!! :D I seriously could've eaten it all by itself. Wonderfully creamy with a yummy lemon tang. Thanx!(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kallie Kupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States