Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Pretty good. Smooth and creamy. Was great on vanilla cupcakes. I reduced the sugar amount by half suggested. Worth making it again, but will be looking for another cream cheese frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I think it's perfect! I love this on lemon cupcakes with a strawberry jam or custard filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tompaulelizabeth
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Loved it! Tastes wonderful, pipes like a dream. Only changed lemon juice from 2T to 3T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
People are all over the map with the amount of sugar; and I must say for our preference it is way too much. We really like a strong cream cheese flavour, and I like this recipe because it calls for lemon which really seals the deal! I wonder if people who are having issues with consistency are using light or spreadable cream cheese? I used 2 blocks of regular cream cheese, softened on a low setting in the mic, then eyeballed and tasted as I added the sugar, but likely used about 2 cups. Consistency was great, could have piped but just spread on with a knife. On carrot cake (Uncle Sam's from this website, also very versatile in terms of ingredients). Absolutely delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Great recipe! Used it on my lemon cupcakes and they came out beautiful! I didn't listen to other reviewers since I knew that the amount of sugar is for consistency. This is NOT A GLAZE! This is a delicious FROSTING! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superspoiled

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly only I used orange zest and juice. It's phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
this was delicious! i think the key is to taste test it as you go, I added a bit less icing sugar and more cream cheese & lemon and zest than called for, and only a couple drops of vanilla, and really it was AMAZING! i cut the recipe in half and it was perfect to ice the top of a decent sized (lemon) birthday cake - my fam loved it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I rated it a 4 but would have rated it a 5 if it called for less sugar. I only used 1 cup of powdered sugar as someone else suggested. I made this with the 5 ounces (about 1 cup) and it was perfect. I loved the bright flavor. I used this on a lemon poppy seed cake and it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The consistency probably would've been perfect if I had used the 5 cups, perhaps 4.5. I ran out of powdered sugar and iced my bottom layer and had to go out for more because 3.5 cups was not enough to make it thick enough. Delicious tasting. I used the yellow cake recipe from an old Betty Crocker cookbook and added lemon zest and juice per their directions. My cake cooked too long and I ended up using a simple syrup with raspberry jam over my leveled off sides to moisten it. One of my better cakes I believe and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
i tried the icing but it was too thin is there any way it can be thicker ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States