Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
This was a perfect frosting for a summer cake. I made a vanilla cake with a raspberry filling. The lemon frosting made the flavors pop. I did use a tad bit more sugar, then it called for in the recipe. It spread perfectly. This was a total hit for a birthday partyI threw. Tammy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
The flavor of this frosting was great (although I did use less sugar than the recipe called for) but I had trouble with the consistency. It was too thin. The frosting between the layers slowly squished out the sides...and applying to the sides was tricky, at best. Perhaps it was thin because I only used 2 cups of confectioners sugar instead of 5 as the recipe called for. My fault then! I felt that 5 cups would have been way to sweet for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Way too sweet! Cut the sugar to 2 cups and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I didn't make any changes. It was delicious on a lemon cake I made. I added the icing sugar to make the consistency for frosting a two layer 8" cake. Then I sprinkled yellow sugar on top. Nothing fancy, but everyone enjoyed the flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Loved this frosting! I did make a few adjustments, I added 4 T fresh lemon juice and only used 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. It was light, lemony and a real hit for the birthday girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I went with a reviewers suggestions, which was that the recipes should have had 5 ounces of frosting, but that only resulted in two cups of frosting--not enough to frost a cake with two eight inch layers. I ended up adding more butter (since I was out of cream cheese) and more sugar, and by the time I had enough frosting, I could hardly taste the cream cheese. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect. One person commented that it should be 5 oz of sugar, not 5 cups, that is incorrect. Also, if the frosting comes out too thin, put it in the fridge and remix when ready to frost. This is a simple, delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Siverling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Tried it with 5 ounces of icing sugar and it is incredible. Tried with 5 cups and it is with out flavor except for icing sugar flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Used this on a lemon cake and it was delicious. I didn't measure the sugar just added straight from the bag until I got the consistency I wanted. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
The taste is absolutely amazing but I had a problem with trying to get it thick enough to hold its place. It did slide around a bit, but the taste sooo made up for that! And just as everyone else said; adding a bit of lemon juice might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States