Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The consistency probably would've been perfect if I had used the 5 cups, perhaps 4.5. I ran out of powdered sugar and iced my bottom layer and had to go out for more because 3.5 cups was not enough to make it thick enough. Delicious tasting. I used the yellow cake recipe from an old Betty Crocker cookbook and added lemon zest and juice per their directions. My cake cooked too long and I ended up using a simple syrup with raspberry jam over my leveled off sides to moisten it. One of my better cakes I believe and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
i tried the icing but it was too thin is there any way it can be thicker ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
It may have been my mistake but I added 1/2 cup butter instead of 1/4 in error. I also forgot the vanilla and used only 1 Tab lemon juice. I loved the taste it was wonderful BUT I totally could not pipe it - it seemed more like a thick glaze. I put it in the refrigerator for a while thinking that would make it get stiffer but it didn't. I saved the rest to use as a glaze for a lemon Bundt cake but for a frosting I pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is the best frosting I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
WOW!! SO DELICIOUS!! :D I seriously could've eaten it all by itself. Wonderfully creamy with a yummy lemon tang. Thanx!(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Perfect flavor! Loved it on vanilla cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is perfect as is. The person who said it should be 5 ounces of powdered sugar instead of 5 cups is wrong. As written it ends up being perfectly creamy, lemony, and just right for sweetness. I don't normally like cake much, but we had this on a lemon box cake and I kept eating it just for the frosting. When I made it, the cream cheese and butter were cool but workable, and with the 5 cups of powdered sugar it was just right to spread easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
What a great, flavorful frosting. Made it as is but used all the juice and zest from the lemon. I used 5 cups of confectioner's sugar, it became a tad stiff so I added some whipping cream to make it more speadable. Just a delectable lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe but there is too much powdered sugar... I only used about one and one half cups... nice flavor for pumpkin and spice cakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States