Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Best Cake frosting ever!!! I did decrease the sugar amount by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckbradford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Not bad, but far too sweet (even though I cut back on the sugar). I made a double batch and frosted a double-layer lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Family loved this recipe. I doubled the lemon juice and added about 2 teaspoons of lemon zest to the mix and then added enough extra powdered sugar to compensate for the extra juice. It was super lemony. I iced a lemon wedding cake that is my wife's favorite (I'll post the recipe for the cake soon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I just whipped up a double batch for a lemon cake and it tastes delicious! Hopefully I'll have a little leftover for some cookies later in the week! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Deliciously sweet! I scaled the recipe down to 16 servings. Added 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon zest. Only used 2 drops of yellow food coloring to give a better yellow color. I used this recipe to fill and top the Lemon Gold Cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Excellent. I liked the sweetness of the frosting, it balanced the lemon cake I made quite nicely. However, one batch was not quite enough to frost an entire double layer cake, so I made a second batch. We had leftover frosting then, but that was okay. I did not add any food coloring, it did not need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Good recipe. I did not use all the additional sugar recommended, only about 1/4 c more, to taste. I also beat it for a while, and my mixer had a higher setting for frosting, so after combining everything, I used that. I made two batches, actually, for two dozen cupcakes, since we dyed some to do some detail frosting (baseballs!). There was extra, but I don't have any complaints about the amount. Didn't use lemon, used vanilla instead, and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Lovely, luscious and perfectly lemony ambrosia. Applied this to the lemon drop cookie recipe on this website. The cookie was OK without the frosting, but was just devine with this frosting. It's nice and tangy with the fresh lemon. Much better than using lemon extract only. The cream cheese imparts a perfectly compatible tang. Could be used to dress up a plain vanilla cake or on an orange cake. Can be used as a glaze by thinning it out a bit with drops of milk. Versatile and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This frosting was sooooo good with the Lemon drop cookies....a spring time favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Got rave reviews on this....will make it EVERY time I make a lemon cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States