Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Great frosting, really tasty, goes well with lemon lime cupcakes or lemon orange cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by great_girl11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I've got to agree with another reviewer on the lemon juice making this too runny. I also scaled the sugar amount to my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Frosting was too runny with the stated amounts. I had to add quite a bit more icing sugar, and consequently lemon extract. It was very smooth and the cream cheese gave it a pleasant tang. It does keep its shape even if it looks a bit runny. Not really a life-altering or amazing frosting. I probably won't make it again, but thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Awesome and creamy. I also cut back the sugar as it would have been too sweet. I also added a few drops of pure vanilla extract to enhance the flavor! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capergirlinmaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
As written, only an average recipe. Too much playing around with measurements to get it to proper consistency to rate this any higher. I used only half the amount of lemon juice (and added some zest to replace lost lemon flavor) and it still was thinner than I would have liked. And, as others have remarked, it really is too sweet. By the time I manipulated the sugar and juice measurements and added lemon zest, I really wasn't making this recipe anymore. Since I was using this to pipe on cupcakes and needed a sturdier frosting, rather than add more confectioners sugar I added a couple teaspoons of meringue powder, which helped. If I was to make this in the future I would still use only 1 T. of lemon juice, and perhaps double the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
very delicious! I used this to frost cupcakes and only needed half the recipe, but i made the whole recipe anyway so I can freeze some for a later use. The frosting is even better the next day after the flavors have had some time to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was an alright frosting, I found it to be a little too sweet though so I would reccomend using it on something like shortbread, rather than sweeter goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Wonderful frosting! I too used it on the Lemon Gold Cake and the family just loves it. I think I may try it with orange juice and try making the Lemon Gold cake with orange zest, instead of lemon. May be good made up with orange. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was the perfect frosting for my lemon curd cake, however I did add more lemon to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Best Cake frosting ever!!! I did decrease the sugar amount by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckbradford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States