Lemon-Cream Cheese Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I thought the frosting was delicious (I added 1/4 cup more sugar and only used 1/2 the cream cheese), but I wasn't impressed with the cupcake itself. Like other reviewers indicated, the cupcakes were very dense and a little dry. I probably won't repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out fabulous!! I added a lemonhead on top of each cupcake :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I wish I could give 2-1/2 because these cupcakes are that - right in the middle, take 'em or leave 'em, mediocrity at its best. I was going for "wow" and got "meh". You get the drift. Anyway I took the recent comments into consideration and made some modifications, mostly with cooking time. Despite their being done in 18 minutes a few of them were still burned on the bottom! It may have been my pan, but still, really? I made a note that if I bake them again to do so at 325 instead of 350. Also I think the yield is off as I measured out each cupcake carefully with my 1/4 cup and only came up with 20 cupcakes. Not a problem for me, but if you're counting on getting more, you should be prepared. The frosting was the best part of this cupcake. It was creamy and lemony - I added a few drops of yellow food coloring because otherwise the frosting is basically white. I piped the frosting on using the star tip - makes for pretty presentation and also much quicker than spreading with a knife. However if you plan to do this do not modify and make the frosting harder as one reviewer did or you will have a heck of a time. I probably won't make these again just because of the disappointment - instead I'll continue my pursuit of the perfect cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These cupcakes are delicious. The frosting is perfect compliment and the overall cupcake has just a flavor of lemon.. not overpowering. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made mini-cupcakes for work for a contest and WON! I had several leftover and served them at a family function they were a hit there as well. I doubled the recipe and added one box white and one box lemon cake mix. For the frosting I put it in the freezer then re-whipped it right before serving so it wouldn't spread so thinly. I'm a fan for life now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
the frosting was really good but like others say the cake part is a bit on the heavy side. i think if you were to use lemon jello instead of the pudding it would work alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
These cupcakes are delicious! I've received a lot of wonderful compliments on them. I did make some minor changes after reading through the reviews. I added 4 tbsp of lemon juice to the batter, only used 6 oz of cream cheese in the icing so it wasn't so cheesy, and added an extra tbsp of lemon juice to the icing. As an experiment, I piped raspberry jam into some of the cupcakes before icing them. It added a wonderful flavor and made this cupcake one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Yummy, fluffy. Used sugar free pudding by mistake and they still were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
These are my new favorite cupcakes. These cupcakes are moist and light and have a good lemon flavor. I will be making these again. I confess I did add a little lemon flavor to half the batter. Either way they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This recipe is very delicious. The cupcakes are very moist and dense. Per other reviews I added about a 1/4 cup more of powdered sugar and a little bit more lemon juice to the frosting. It came out tasting way too much like cream cheese at first. I did have a good amount of frosting left so I made sugar cookies and frosted those with the leftovers. I will be making these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Cranberry-Apple Pilgrim Pie

This pilgrim pie is delicious and super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States