Lemon-Cream Cheese Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I thought the frosting was delicious (I added 1/4 cup more sugar and only used 1/2 the cream cheese), but I wasn't impressed with the cupcake itself. Like other reviewers indicated, the cupcakes were very dense and a little dry. I probably won't repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out fabulous!! I added a lemonhead on top of each cupcake :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I wish I could give 2-1/2 because these cupcakes are that - right in the middle, take 'em or leave 'em, mediocrity at its best. I was going for "wow" and got "meh". You get the drift. Anyway I took the recent comments into consideration and made some modifications, mostly with cooking time. Despite their being done in 18 minutes a few of them were still burned on the bottom! It may have been my pan, but still, really? I made a note that if I bake them again to do so at 325 instead of 350. Also I think the yield is off as I measured out each cupcake carefully with my 1/4 cup and only came up with 20 cupcakes. Not a problem for me, but if you're counting on getting more, you should be prepared. The frosting was the best part of this cupcake. It was creamy and lemony - I added a few drops of yellow food coloring because otherwise the frosting is basically white. I piped the frosting on using the star tip - makes for pretty presentation and also much quicker than spreading with a knife. However if you plan to do this do not modify and make the frosting harder as one reviewer did or you will have a heck of a time. I probably won't make these again just because of the disappointment - instead I'll continue my pursuit of the perfect cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These cupcakes are delicious. The frosting is perfect compliment and the overall cupcake has just a flavor of lemon.. not overpowering. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made mini-cupcakes for work for a contest and WON! I had several leftover and served them at a family function they were a hit there as well. I doubled the recipe and added one box white and one box lemon cake mix. For the frosting I put it in the freezer then re-whipped it right before serving so it wouldn't spread so thinly. I'm a fan for life now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
the frosting was really good but like others say the cake part is a bit on the heavy side. i think if you were to use lemon jello instead of the pudding it would work alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
These cupcakes are delicious! I've received a lot of wonderful compliments on them. I did make some minor changes after reading through the reviews. I added 4 tbsp of lemon juice to the batter, only used 6 oz of cream cheese in the icing so it wasn't so cheesy, and added an extra tbsp of lemon juice to the icing. As an experiment, I piped raspberry jam into some of the cupcakes before icing them. It added a wonderful flavor and made this cupcake one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Yummy, fluffy. Used sugar free pudding by mistake and they still were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
These are my new favorite cupcakes. These cupcakes are moist and light and have a good lemon flavor. I will be making these again. I confess I did add a little lemon flavor to half the batter. Either way they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This recipe is very delicious. The cupcakes are very moist and dense. Per other reviews I added about a 1/4 cup more of powdered sugar and a little bit more lemon juice to the frosting. It came out tasting way too much like cream cheese at first. I did have a good amount of frosting left so I made sugar cookies and frosted those with the leftovers. I will be making these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Cranberry-Apple Pilgrim Pie

This pilgrim pie is delicious and super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States