Lemon-Cream Cheese Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
THese cupcakes were delicious and oh so easy to make. Like others have suggested, I used lemon cake mix instead of white cake mix to bring out the lemony flavor. Mine were not heavy as some suggested and the frosting is possibly the best I've ever tasted. It isn't a stiff frosting, so make sure the cupcakes are completely cooled before you frost them. Of course, you could add more powdered sugar if you like the frosting a little stiffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLINJACKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made these today and was not impressed at all. They really weren't that good and I'm huge lemon fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Very dense, rich cupcake, but the lemon flavor seems to lighten it up. My husband is truly a cake snob and he can't stop raving about these cupcakes! I followed the directions exactly and, in my oven, they took about 21 minutes to bake. I filled the liners about 2/3 full and ended up with 21 cupcakes, all nicely-risen above the rim of the liner. The icing was very simple to make and allowed plenty of icing on each cupcake, with maybe 4 or 5 tablespoons left over. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavannahDare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This recipe is a keeper.. The cupcakes were delicious! I changed the recipe a little because I wanted to make vanilla cupcakes so I used vanilla pudding instead of lemon, and added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla, plus the seeds from one vanilla bean and the result was amazing!! The cake was very light and fluffy, not dense or dry at all. I followed the directions exactly, and kept an eye on the time as other reviews said to do and mine were ready in exactly 20 min. I will definitely be keeping and using this recipe in the future, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These were good - but not mind-blowing which I guess I expected after reading the reviews. I really liked them though and they had a great lemon flovor - and not too complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Delicious cupcakes! Although I'm not sure the benefit of using a white cake mix and lemon jello vs. just using a lemon cake mix. I made these for my dad's birthday because he LOVES lemon. I made the lemon flavor even more intense by adding the zest of one lemon and 1 Tbsp. lemon juice to the cake batter. I also added lemon zest to the frosting. Love the frosting, cream cheese and lemon go so well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Very good...Lemon flavor is just right....not overpowering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
AMAZING! I could not stop eating these! Instead of using the pudding mix (sorry Jello), I used lemon oil (used for making candy). I also added lemon oil to the frosting. I cannot get over how good these were! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
These were so good! I can't get over how moist they were. I would highly suggest to anyone about to make this to get the white cake mix that has pudding in the mix. I think that really helped make my cupcakes so delicious. With the pudding already in the cake mix and the extra lemon pudding, how could it not? I also added extra lemon juice to the cake mix and icing. My only concern is that I think too much lemon juice in the icing will make it runny so be careful. If you like moist lemon cupcakes then you need to try this recipe. I always keep a really close eye while baking so I don't overbake. I am not sure exactly how long they cooked for, I just kept checking them with a toothpick. This is a great recipe and a keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Everyone loves these!! I add a little fresh lemon juice and lemon zest to my batter AND frosting, Aslo i add yellow food coloring to give it a very pretty appearance. I love how easy it is and I always keep ingredents in the house for the "just in case we need cup-cakes" kind of moment. I also made these for my friends bridal shower and tinted the frosting in her wedding colors!! It was still a light a refreshing treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Cranberry-Apple Pilgrim Pie

This pilgrim pie is delicious and super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States