Lemon Cream Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Candice Armey
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I almost followed this recipe exactly, only difference is I doubled my lemon.I love lemon! cooking time was perfect . This came out with the right amount of color, excellent taste and great texture I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Armey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yroseau
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I made this recipe two times so far. The second time I didn't have lemons, so I used limes instead. It was equally as good. The sugar butter ended up being a green tint which was fine. Oh I forgot to mention that I took the suggestion of another reviewer and baked the first layer first. I didnt have butter either time, so I used melted ghee instead. Since I'm in Miami I will use key limes next time, and see how that taste. We love key limes down here so it should work out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yroseau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Subbed sugar for 3.5 Tbsp Truvia. And reduced fat cream cheese and crescent roll dough. Next time I will bake the bottom layer of dough alone for a few mins to get a more sturdy crust. Otherwise delicious and was able to eliminate some extra fat and calories but not flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Anything w/Pillsbury crescent rolls tastes like the crescent rolls. It dominates all the other flavors. For me, there is a strange aftertaste in them. I will stick w/the traditional lemon bar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Cream cheese mixture good with the lemon, tried the pre-bake on the bottom crust and I think it helped it from staying a raw doughy texture for the bottom. I'd switch in a shortbread or Graham cracker crust, just thought there was to little flavor to the bottom crust. Someone suggested phyllo, but I'm concerned about fat and calories, love the idea maybe a spread would work instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I would like to try this with puff pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookyldy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amycooksalittle
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I'm not going to lie, this never made it to the refrigerator. And it was still wonderful. After reading the reviews, I knew some thought it was too tart, and a few had problems with the bottom crust. I am not a fan of overpowering lemon flavor, so I only half-heartedly squoze... no juicer, no heavy lifting. I only zested 1 lemon. As for the crust, I followed the advice to cook it first. The BOTTOM crust is the only part of this recipe I would give 4/5 stars to. It is rather pesky. The top crust turns out perfect, absolutely divine. Filling was amazing (y'all are lucky that made it into the oven). I have thought a lot about how to fix the bottom crust. Maybe make it thinner and don't cook before hand? I kept thinking it would taste better with good old fashioned pie crust. I'm not a huge fan of filo dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
The crescent rolls did not add at all to the flavor. Cream cheese fillIng was not tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
this is so easy to make and very reasonably priced in ingredients ... I made this today and its already half gone its going to be a family favorite for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
If you love lemon this is the one for you! Crispy crust and wonderful filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States