Lemon Cooler Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This has been a hit everytime I make it. My family loves it. One mistake I made ended up being a great change to the recipe. I accidentally bought lemon pudding mix instead of vanilla and it added that extra tartness that everyone said was missing. I also made the icing while the cake was baking and put it in the fridge to firm up until the cake was cool enough to be iced. I find it is not as unstable. I also cut the water to the gelatin to 1 cup which also made a difference. This has been a big winner at summer family cookouts. I am from Houston TX and I don't think you could experience a hotter more humid summer. That being said, I make sure that I take extra care when I plan on taking it to any function in the summer months. This cake is better if made the night before and refrigerated until the next day, as it gives it time to set and firm up. If I am transporting it I use an insulated carrier (fits a 9x13 pan) I also understand they make one for layer cakes or I make sure it stays in the ice chest until ready to serve. I also improvised before by putting it in a box and wrapping it in two huge bath towels with zip lock bags of ice packed around it. This cake is definitely meant to be set out when you are ready to serve it. Some might find this as being too much effort, but I love the recipe and I don't mind taking the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2002
I made this cake for Memorial Day Weekend for our family. It was great, and everyone loved it! Perfect for summer--light and refreshing. My sister-in-law requested the recipe. I used a straw to poke holes in the cake, and only used 1 cup hot water with the lemon jello to pour over the cake. Everything else I kept the same, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
I made this twice and got rave reviews both times. Next time however, I might try adding real lemon juice or extract instead of the gelatin to the topping. It tasted a little too artificial this last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Amazingly delicious! I don't know what that reviewer was talking about! How would you even make the topping WITHOUT the PUDDING? Are they insane?? Perfect, don't change a thing!! I will make this cake again and again and maybe even again after that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Very good cake that is perfect for the summer - light and refreshing. Thanks for sharing - it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This was great! Cool, lemony, a snap to make. And, the best part, no expensive, exotic ingredients! This is a big hit at our house, both for family and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
My husband really liked this cake but I was expecting it to be a little more tangy. I may play with the ingredients a bit. Maybe leave the pudding mix out of the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Awesome dessert! I have had this before but never had a recipe and this turned out better than I remember. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Painter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Fantastic! I took this cake to my family's Christmas Eve celebration, and it was a huge hit! Incredibly easy. A great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This recipe was easy to make. I brought it to work for a coworker's birthday and everyone loved it! The cake was really moist and the topping very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States