Lemon Cooler Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I made this up tonight and really wanted to like this cake. I think it came out just fine, but I think the problem is that I am just not a fan of poke cakes. Maybe if I had just used one cup of water I would have liked it a bit better. Perhaps this will be better tomorrow?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was very easy to make and tasted really good. The cake turned out light and moist with just enough lemon flavor that it wasn't overkill. Most of my family had a second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Great recipe! I've made it twice already, once for my family, and then again with a meal, for someone who had been in the hospital. Very easy, and delicious. I used a bundt pan too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
This is almost a very good recipe. I reserved enough cake batter to make an 8" round cake in addition to the 9x13. I do this habitually because my plastic lid will touch the frosting otherwise. The little thin 8" round cake was better than the deeper 9x13. We would like this cake better made in layers than as a sheet cake. I took it to a potluck and it looked so plain that people thought it was just a yellow cake with some coolwhip on top. The frosting could use extra lemon flavor, so I would add extra lemon gelatin or lemon zest. It could use some color or garnish. I cut the leftover cake (hardly anyone tried it) into squares. I cut the cake squares into two layers, spread orange curd in between the layers and it was wonderful then. I will make this recipe again as a layer cake,using double the amount of (enhanced) frosting or using lemon pie filling in between the layers, since I likely will not find such a bargain on orange curd again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Excellent recipe, very easy to make. I did note that when using Duncan Hines cake mix, the cake towards the middle was a little too moist. Next time I will use a different kind of cake make or use less of the gelatin. Also for a different twist, I used pineapple jello and added lemon juice to the frosting-wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This was okay. I guess I'm not a big fan of poke cakes. I think they are more wet and soggy than what I would call moist. But this was a refreshing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
We loved this cake. The topping was the best...I used lite whipped cream, sugar free jello mix, and sugar free pudding mix. I didn't think it tasted artificial in the least. Next time for the cake I will use a brand name, not the generic, because it isn't as moist as Duncan Hines or Pilsbury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This was so good. Brought it to a friend's dinner. We started of with a piece each, all six of us went back for second helpings, then ended up finishing it off by eating it right out of the pan with forks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This was wonderful. My husband and I loved it, especially. It's almost addictive! After it was gone, we kept opening the fridge hoping it was still there..lol. Just great served cold; very refreshing, although I do agree with the poster below who noted that the results might be better using and extract (and grated lemon peel?hmm..) instead of the gelatin mix in the frosting. I would recommend trying it as written first. It's really delicious, easy and inexpensive. Thank you, Caroline..this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
My husband really liked this cake but I was expecting it to be a little more tangy. I may play with the ingredients a bit. Maybe leave the pudding mix out of the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States