Lemon Cooler Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I made this cake, following some of the suggestions and it turned out great. I used sugar free jello and sugar free lemon pudding for a little less guilty treat. The whole family raved over it. This is a definite repeater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Wisely checked reviews and modified slightly; less water in gelatin and used lemon instant pudding instead. Delicious frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
There are only 3 of us in this house and only 1 piece left. Enough SAID!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Taste like something a kid would make in Home Ec class to me. It wasn't nasty, just not something that was worth the calories to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I have made this cake twice, for my husband and also for co-workers. I was asked by a couple of people for the recipe and was told by a couple of people it was the best cake they've ever tasted. I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe. It is now one of my favorite cakes. Plus, it's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Ahoskie, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This has been a hit everytime I make it. My family loves it. One mistake I made ended up being a great change to the recipe. I accidentally bought lemon pudding mix instead of vanilla and it added that extra tartness that everyone said was missing. I also made the icing while the cake was baking and put it in the fridge to firm up until the cake was cool enough to be iced. I find it is not as unstable. I also cut the water to the gelatin to 1 cup which also made a difference. This has been a big winner at summer family cookouts. I am from Houston TX and I don't think you could experience a hotter more humid summer. That being said, I make sure that I take extra care when I plan on taking it to any function in the summer months. This cake is better if made the night before and refrigerated until the next day, as it gives it time to set and firm up. If I am transporting it I use an insulated carrier (fits a 9x13 pan) I also understand they make one for layer cakes or I make sure it stays in the ice chest until ready to serve. I also improvised before by putting it in a box and wrapping it in two huge bath towels with zip lock bags of ice packed around it. This cake is definitely meant to be set out when you are ready to serve it. Some might find this as being too much effort, but I love the recipe and I don't mind taking the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I made this up tonight and really wanted to like this cake. I think it came out just fine, but I think the problem is that I am just not a fan of poke cakes. Maybe if I had just used one cup of water I would have liked it a bit better. Perhaps this will be better tomorrow?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was very easy to make and tasted really good. The cake turned out light and moist with just enough lemon flavor that it wasn't overkill. Most of my family had a second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Great recipe! I've made it twice already, once for my family, and then again with a meal, for someone who had been in the hospital. Very easy, and delicious. I used a bundt pan too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
This is almost a very good recipe. I reserved enough cake batter to make an 8" round cake in addition to the 9x13. I do this habitually because my plastic lid will touch the frosting otherwise. The little thin 8" round cake was better than the deeper 9x13. We would like this cake better made in layers than as a sheet cake. I took it to a potluck and it looked so plain that people thought it was just a yellow cake with some coolwhip on top. The frosting could use extra lemon flavor, so I would add extra lemon gelatin or lemon zest. It could use some color or garnish. I cut the leftover cake (hardly anyone tried it) into squares. I cut the cake squares into two layers, spread orange curd in between the layers and it was wonderful then. I will make this recipe again as a layer cake,using double the amount of (enhanced) frosting or using lemon pie filling in between the layers, since I likely will not find such a bargain on orange curd again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States