Lemon Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Yes, the cinnamon sugar should be sprinkled over the top layer of cake batter, giving it a nice crispy layer. Some have said that the cake didn't have much flavor and it is why I added lemon zest and vanilla to the cake batter. In hindsight, the lemon pie filling is what gives the cake a nice balance of flavors. It is important to use the size pan specified in the recipe since the cake should be bar size in depth, otherwise the flavor of the coffee cake will not be what it should be. There is one photo that is far from this and I am guessing it was baked in a smaller pan. This particular reviewer did not like the cake. In other words, the cake alone is not all that fantastic, but with the addition of the lemon pie filling it balances the flavor of the cake and together they are heavenly. There needs to be a balance of the amount of cake to filling, or the result will not be what it should be. I added some lemon juice to the lemon pie filling to make it easier to spread over batter. Drop spoonfuls of filling over batter and then gently spread with back of spoon. I love that the lemon filling is baked with the cake and produces a layer all its' own. I made a glaze from lemon pie filling, powder sugar, and water. It gives the cake a nice balance of sweetness and tartness. It is best served warm. Great the next day as well. I highly recommend this recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is very close to the coffee cake recipe I grew up on. My recipe calls for all of the sugar added to the batter, 1 cup of butter, not oil, and 3 cups of flour. It also has 1 t. vanilla extract. No cinnamon topping, and I usually make it with cherry or apple filling, but I am trying it with the lemon next time. It's my favorite coffee cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Excellent coffee cake!! My husband loves lemon and gobbled it right up. The lemon pie filling was a little difficult to spread on the first layers. I just dabbed it and them spread it the best I could. It turned out fine. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I love coffee cakes and this one is the best. My mom made it for Christmas breakfast and now I am going to try it. What a great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mammaof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
WOW! I love this recipe. As long as you have a can of pie filling (you can use any flavor for this), the rest of the ingredients are basic pantry items. I made this with lemon and the can was actually 22 ounces rather than the smaller one the recipe calls for. I put the cinamon and sugar on the very top and it worked out very well. My husband said the flavor reminded him of a combo of Snickerdoodle and Sugar cookies with a yummy creamy lemon filling bonus. I will be making this often. Next time I will try cherry filling, or maybe apple, or perhaps blueberry...hmmm??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I used this recipe, but did not have lemon pie filling..only apple which I used (the whole can)..I added the cinnamon/sugar in the middle and on top...I took this to church and everyone loved it. One of these days I will try it with the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
What drew me to this recipe was the widely mixed reviews! I was curious and wanted to find out for myself. The tip suggested by another reviewer to add a little lemon juice to the pie filling was a good one. One of those that are so simple, so common sense, that it makes you wonder, "Gee, why didn't I think of that?" Not only did it make it easier to spread onto the cake batter, it also added a freshness that canned lemon pie filling lacks. The juice from half a good-sized lemon did the trick and I added the zest of the half lemon as well. The juice and zest from the remaining half lemon I added to the batter, along with a teaspoon of vanilla. The cake is good! Absolutely nothing wrong with it at all, unless you want to criticize the somewhat tinny aftertaste of the pie filling, which certainly is no fault of the recipe. The cake is moist with a tender crumb, the filling a sweet, tangy and gooey counterpart – it’s almost like the surprise of the custard filling that oozes out when you bite into a chocolate eclair. The white cake/lemon filling is a nice combo, yet I could easily see any other type of fruit filling being used. I wasn’t sure if I’d like the cinnamon-sugar topping with the lemon but it worked well. The cake mixed up easily, and turned out to be a pretty big pay-off for the limited effort put into it. I ate a good-sized piece of this and could easily have cut myself another. I will not hesitate to send this with Hubs tomorrow for his staff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Nathalie
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Great Flavor,...Party in your MOUTH!!! I too was confused & didn't understand where to put the remaining 1/4 cup sugar or cinnamon - on top of the lemon filling or on top of the second layer of cake? So these are the changes I made to the recipe....instead of vegetable oil, I used organic Coconut oil, which solidifies under 70 degrees. This made it easy to spread the filling, but difficult to pour the remaining batter on top. Once I warmed it, (duh), it made it easier to spread. I replaced the remaining 1/4 cup sugar, with brown sugar, and made a mix of brown sugar, lemon zest, & cinnamon for the top of the cake. Husband Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I think I would have loved this and given it 5 stars if it used less lemon pie filling (the lemon flavor was too strong in my opinion having that much filling) or if the same cake were used with a different flavor filling. I think it would taste amazing with apple, peach, berry etc or about half the lemon. My dad however did like it just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I had some canned lemon pie filling that needed to be used up and this recipe seemed to fit the bill. Given the ease of preparation, I will definately make again (have a can of apple pie filling to use up as well lol). Quick, simple - my cake did come out a tad dry, but nothing a little whipped cream didn't fix. All in all, I was quite please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States