Lemon Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Excellent coffee cake!! My husband loves lemon and gobbled it right up. The lemon pie filling was a little difficult to spread on the first layers. I just dabbed it and them spread it the best I could. It turned out fine. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was good, but I think I'll make a few changes next time. From the directions, I didn't understand where to put the remaining 1/4 cup sugar or cinnamon - on top of the lemon filling or on top of the second layer of cake? So, next time, I'll omit entirely; add some lemon zest to the cake, and make a drizzle for the top with powdered sugar and lemon juice. That should kick up the lemon taste! I agree with the first reviewer - just dab the filling and spread the best you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I love coffee cakes and this one is the best. My mom made it for Christmas breakfast and now I am going to try it. What a great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mammaof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This is a very light and tasty cake. I wasn't sure about where to put the cinnamon and rest of the sugar. I left the cinnamon out and put the sugar on the very top. I didn't use all of the 1/4 cup of sugar however. The sugar baked on top also made the cake look nice. When I tried to put it on the wire rack it fell apart. I would recomend just leaving it in the pan to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flower Fan
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is tasty. I mixed the cinnamon in with the remaining sugar and sprinkled it all over the top. No need to reduce this amount as others have suggested as this amount nicely covers the cake. Also - for the lemon filling, just put a bunch of small dollops all over the top and then it is much easier to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I don't know what went wrong but the cake turned out really weird. It also smelled of eggs for some reason:((
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nathalie
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Great Flavor,...Party in your MOUTH!!! I too was confused & didn't understand where to put the remaining 1/4 cup sugar or cinnamon - on top of the lemon filling or on top of the second layer of cake? So these are the changes I made to the recipe....instead of vegetable oil, I used organic Coconut oil, which solidifies under 70 degrees. This made it easy to spread the filling, but difficult to pour the remaining batter on top. Once I warmed it, (duh), it made it easier to spread. I replaced the remaining 1/4 cup sugar, with brown sugar, and made a mix of brown sugar, lemon zest, & cinnamon for the top of the cake. Husband Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
WOW! I love this recipe. As long as you have a can of pie filling (you can use any flavor for this), the rest of the ingredients are basic pantry items. I made this with lemon and the can was actually 22 ounces rather than the smaller one the recipe calls for. I put the cinamon and sugar on the very top and it worked out very well. My husband said the flavor reminded him of a combo of Snickerdoodle and Sugar cookies with a yummy creamy lemon filling bonus. I will be making this often. Next time I will try cherry filling, or maybe apple, or perhaps blueberry...hmmm??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a pretty boring cake. It had very little flavor, and a funny, dense texture. It didn't taste bad, but didn't really taste like much of anything. It was also very hard to spread the pie filling in a smooth layer on the batter. Mine ended up more in little globs throughout the cake, which was rather unappetizing. Sorry, but I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Yes, the cinnamon sugar should be sprinkled over the top layer of cake batter, giving it a nice crispy layer. Some have said that the cake didn't have much flavor and it is why I added lemon zest and vanilla to the cake batter. In hindsight, the lemon pie filling is what gives the cake a nice balance of flavors. It is important to use the size pan specified in the recipe since the cake should be bar size in depth, otherwise the flavor of the coffee cake will not be what it should be. There is one photo that is far from this and I am guessing it was baked in a smaller pan. This particular reviewer did not like the cake. In other words, the cake alone is not all that fantastic, but with the addition of the lemon pie filling it balances the flavor of the cake and together they are heavenly. There needs to be a balance of the amount of cake to filling, or the result will not be what it should be. I added some lemon juice to the lemon pie filling to make it easier to spread over batter. Drop spoonfuls of filling over batter and then gently spread with back of spoon. I love that the lemon filling is baked with the cake and produces a layer all its' own. I made a glaze from lemon pie filling, powder sugar, and water. It gives the cake a nice balance of sweetness and tartness. It is best served warm. Great the next day as well. I highly recommend this recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States