Lemon Cilantro Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2001
We really liked this, although took the advice from the previous reviewer and cut back on the juice and lemon pepper a bit. We also boiled the potato slices for about 4 minutes before we put them in the pan, and they turned out perfectly. The chicken comes out very tender, and with a good flavor. If you want some color on the chicken, you'd better brush it with a bit of butter after you uncover it, and then bake it for the 10 uncovered minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Ohh I really wanted this to work. I love cilantro and lemon chicken but this was just to much. To much cilantro, to much lemon. Funny thing is I even halfed everything and still to much. I soaked the potatoes and they still didn't cook right. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Took the advice of two reviewers and 1) prepared this on the stovetop and 2) sprinkled Old Bay seasoning on the whole chicken breast prior to browning in a combo of butter and olive oil. I boiled new red potatoes and added them to the skillet to absorb the flavors of the lemon juice and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
OMG...This was an absolutely delish recipe....yes we cut the lemon juice down and I added extra cilantro. I also sprinkled Old Bay over it all instead of using lemon-pepper, and it was so yum...even the kiddos loved it...I recommend this to anyone who loves chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIBBLES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I've tried several recipes before with meat and potatoes in the same dish, and the potatoes are always undercooked unless I cook them prior to putting in the pan with the rest of the ingredients. So that's what I did--I cubed the potatoes instead of slicing, and cooked in microwave about six minutes until they were practically cooked. I then just added to the chicken, coated with the mixture and baked as directed. I like the flavors in this recipe, but they are strong. So if you aren't a big fan of lemon or lemon pepper, I wouldn't try this. To be fair, though, I did marinate my chicken overnight bc it was frozen, so I defrosted it in the lemon cilantro marinade. Also, I think this makes a lot. I scaled down to one serving but only used one chicken breast bc bf is gone this week, and I have enough for leftovers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I made this recipe minus the pepper... and it was fine. I do not know that that reviewer who gave it a 1 was thinking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Too Much cilantro & lemon over powrerd the chicken & potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
NOT RECOMMENDED! I was excited to find this dish as I always have Chicken breast in the fridge and had a bunch of cilantro left over from a previous recipie. I could forgive the potatoes coming out underdone, but the lemon and cilantro did not play well together and combined for an overpowering flavor that none of us were fond of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
You don't need to make alternations to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made this with basmati rice instead of potatoes. I baked the chicken and put some of the lemon juice and half of the cilantro in the rice. I should have used the entire bunch of cilantro (I halved it due to other comments)and I'll use lime in the future. I really could have used an entire bunch of cilantro in the rice alone, and then another 1/2 a bunch in the marinade. My family eats a LOT of cilantro (3-6 bunches a week), so we can go pretty heavy on the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States