Lemon Chiffon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
My family said it tasted just like chiffon pie is supposed to, but I haven't had it before and found it a little rubbery, and too light on the lemon flavor. I won't make it again unless hubby specifically asks me to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I just made this lemon chiffon pie....OMG!! It was absolutely delicious and just what a chiffon pie should look and taste like. It was so light and melts in your mouth. I followed this easy recipe to a 'T' it turned out perfectly. It is a little "gummy" like in texture but that is due to the gelatin....that's the way it should be. It firmed up within a few hours and I didn't have to use cornstarch. With the reviewers that said it did not thicken for them, I believe that you just need to have patience when heating the eye yolk/sugar mixture over a double boiler. It takes awhile but IT DOES THICKEN....really!! I also appreciate the great idea of another reviewer and used my 10" spring form pan instead of a pie pan. It came out great. Like a lemon tart with a graham cracker crust. Terrific pie, will make again...especially during the summer months! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Looking for a more creamy texture, but I guess you don't get that with chiffon. Great flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My grandmother used to make this pie. Unfortunately the recipe was eaten by mice before it came to me. This is as close as I have found to my grandmothers recipe. Thanks so much for posting this. I had no problems following the recipe exactly. Super yummy. Hope it's a hit for Thanksgiving. I will rerate after the big day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made this and it was as light as a feather, and truly delicious. But I know that some people are uncomfortable with uncooked egg products. If such is the case, just use a can of sweetened condensed milk, a small can of lemonade and defrosted Cool Whip and beat it all together and put it in a prepared crust such as the one above, garnish with citrus candy slices or sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Sr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I hate to say it, but this pie was not good at all! I followed the recipe exactly and, like, others found the custard wouldn't thicken so I added corn-starch like had been mentioned, had no problem with beating the eggs and let it sit over night. The pie did thicken in the fridge, but when I finally tasted it, it pretty much just tastes like lemon jell-o mixed with ice-cream/cool whip. Really long, complex lemon jell-o. Granted, I don't know what lemon chiffon pie should taste like, but this doesn't make me want to find out any more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This pie is fabulous. I can't even begin to describe how absolutely delicious it is...or was. I made it for a church dinner, and it was the first dessert to be eaten up. I made my own graham cracker crust, subbing applesauce for part of the butter, so the crust texture was slightly different than a typical graham cracker crust...I think it actually worked better with the lightness of the filling this way, and it was healthier as well. I made the filling exactly as written, and it turned out absolutely perfect...the texture was light, creamy, and oh, so yummy. There was the perfect amount of lemon juice; it gave it a nice, tart, light lemon flavor, not overpowering, but perfect. This is going to be my favorite dessert for Spring...I have a feeling I'll be making it again...and again, and again...Thanks so much for sharing this one! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
A gave it a 5 star, very light and refreshing. but i did make a few changes; I used another reviewers suggestion and used have orange juice and have key limes, this made it taste like orange push-ups, I used a baked pastry crust and I baked the pie after I folded in the egg white mixture for 10 mins at 350 , as i was afraid of it not setting up. And topped it with the whipped cream after it was well chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACQUELYN21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amateur Professional
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I used what organic ingredients I could and the taste of the lemon and zest really shines through quite beautifully in the chiffons light yet thick consistency. After leaving it in the fridge for an hour it was very nice, after three hours it was wonderful. I think this one just needs a little extra sitting time to get fully firm and then it's beautiful. I loved this lemon chiffon and so did everyone else who got a piece, the only thing I heard from anyone was that it was very lemony, but that's what I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
i made this for the weekly sunday night dinner at my parents house, i'm always looking for something new and because it was so hot i thought i needed something light and refreshing.(i also didn't want to turn on my oven) This really hit the mark, my dad's favourite pie is lemon, but he said this was even better than the typical one with the meringue, and i agree. I will definitely be whipping this up again, it really together well, and had a nice creamy texture, i might add a 1/2 tsp of lemon extract to rev the lemon up a little, and am wondering if next time to make it in a 10inch springform since it slices so wonderfully, and makes quite a large quantity of filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States