Lemon Chiffon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Giving it a 5 star, just 'cause I know next time I make it that's what it'll be. Not sure what I did or didn't do, but it would never get thick. I finally added a little corn starch and beat it with electric mixer while over double boiler. Also, unlike impatient me, you must let it cool pretty well before adding the whites, else it all gets a bit runny. After cooling in fridge for awhile was ok. I did make a gluten-free pie crust. Think I agree with other reviewer & will make whites into soft peaks instead of stiff. I do love the lemon, so will try again (& again!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I thought about only giving 4 stars, because making the custard was a bit of a pain...no double boiler, had to improvise.....it did not appear to be setting up for me, so I cheated and added a little cornstarch mixed into some juice to help it thicken. Worked great!! This is a great pie, and worth testing my patience! I will definately make again, especially in the summer! I followed the suggestions of "nanciejean" and used both lemon and orange juice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This is a favorite in my family. It has replaced lemon meringue pie because it's lighter and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amateur Professional
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I used what organic ingredients I could and the taste of the lemon and zest really shines through quite beautifully in the chiffons light yet thick consistency. After leaving it in the fridge for an hour it was very nice, after three hours it was wonderful. I think this one just needs a little extra sitting time to get fully firm and then it's beautiful. I loved this lemon chiffon and so did everyone else who got a piece, the only thing I heard from anyone was that it was very lemony, but that's what I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Made this in addition to the chocolate cheesecake as a lighter, more refreshing change. Was excellent - got lots of rave reviews. Using fresh juice vs. bottled is a must. I also added 2 drops of green food coloring. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I just made this lemon chiffon pie....OMG!! It was absolutely delicious and just what a chiffon pie should look and taste like. It was so light and melts in your mouth. I followed this easy recipe to a 'T' it turned out perfectly. It is a little "gummy" like in texture but that is due to the gelatin....that's the way it should be. It firmed up within a few hours and I didn't have to use cornstarch. With the reviewers that said it did not thicken for them, I believe that you just need to have patience when heating the eye yolk/sugar mixture over a double boiler. It takes awhile but IT DOES THICKEN....really!! I also appreciate the great idea of another reviewer and used my 10" spring form pan instead of a pie pan. It came out great. Like a lemon tart with a graham cracker crust. Terrific pie, will make again...especially during the summer months! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
A gave it a 5 star, very light and refreshing. but i did make a few changes; I used another reviewers suggestion and used have orange juice and have key limes, this made it taste like orange push-ups, I used a baked pastry crust and I baked the pie after I folded in the egg white mixture for 10 mins at 350 , as i was afraid of it not setting up. And topped it with the whipped cream after it was well chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACQUELYN21

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My grandmother used to make this pie. Unfortunately the recipe was eaten by mice before it came to me. This is as close as I have found to my grandmothers recipe. Thanks so much for posting this. I had no problems following the recipe exactly. Super yummy. Hope it's a hit for Thanksgiving. I will rerate after the big day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This pie is fabulous. I can't even begin to describe how absolutely delicious it is...or was. I made it for a church dinner, and it was the first dessert to be eaten up. I made my own graham cracker crust, subbing applesauce for part of the butter, so the crust texture was slightly different than a typical graham cracker crust...I think it actually worked better with the lightness of the filling this way, and it was healthier as well. I made the filling exactly as written, and it turned out absolutely perfect...the texture was light, creamy, and oh, so yummy. There was the perfect amount of lemon juice; it gave it a nice, tart, light lemon flavor, not overpowering, but perfect. This is going to be my favorite dessert for Spring...I have a feeling I'll be making it again...and again, and again...Thanks so much for sharing this one! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Looking for a more creamy texture, but I guess you don't get that with chiffon. Great flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States