Lemon Chiffon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I actually have this recipe from an old cookbook. The only difference is that in that cookbook, they also add 1/2 cup of orange juice (and 1/2 tsp. of EACH orange and lemon zest, instead of just the 1 tsp. lemon zest). It is called citrus chiffon pie and has been my husband' favorite for 20 years. I use a regular pie crust as I find the the graham is too heavy (in texture and taste) for this sort of fluffy pie... and yes I have used the premade kind of crust when I am lazy...which is more often than not! I also cut the 1/2 sugar to 1/3 when you whip the whites to keep it sort of tart (the addition of orange isn't as sour). The orange + the lemon give it a very good flavor. Way better than lemon meringue with that pesky, squeaky meringue on top. I almost always use fresh lemon and orange juice, but have used the bottled kind and it is still good (just skip zest). I try to stick with organic if using zest, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
Fresh lemon juice is a must. Do not use reconstituted lemon juice because the flavor will be compromised. I'm blessed with a lemon tree in my backyard, and this is a great way to showcase my fruits. The use of a prepared graham cracker crust cuts down the workload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKUKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This is a favorite in my family. It has replaced lemon meringue pie because it's lighter and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This pie is fabulous. I can't even begin to describe how absolutely delicious it is...or was. I made it for a church dinner, and it was the first dessert to be eaten up. I made my own graham cracker crust, subbing applesauce for part of the butter, so the crust texture was slightly different than a typical graham cracker crust...I think it actually worked better with the lightness of the filling this way, and it was healthier as well. I made the filling exactly as written, and it turned out absolutely perfect...the texture was light, creamy, and oh, so yummy. There was the perfect amount of lemon juice; it gave it a nice, tart, light lemon flavor, not overpowering, but perfect. This is going to be my favorite dessert for Spring...I have a feeling I'll be making it again...and again, and again...Thanks so much for sharing this one! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Giving it a 5 star, just 'cause I know next time I make it that's what it'll be. Not sure what I did or didn't do, but it would never get thick. I finally added a little corn starch and beat it with electric mixer while over double boiler. Also, unlike impatient me, you must let it cool pretty well before adding the whites, else it all gets a bit runny. After cooling in fridge for awhile was ok. I did make a gluten-free pie crust. Think I agree with other reviewer & will make whites into soft peaks instead of stiff. I do love the lemon, so will try again (& again!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
i made this for the weekly sunday night dinner at my parents house, i'm always looking for something new and because it was so hot i thought i needed something light and refreshing.(i also didn't want to turn on my oven) This really hit the mark, my dad's favourite pie is lemon, but he said this was even better than the typical one with the meringue, and i agree. I will definitely be whipping this up again, it really together well, and had a nice creamy texture, i might add a 1/2 tsp of lemon extract to rev the lemon up a little, and am wondering if next time to make it in a 10inch springform since it slices so wonderfully, and makes quite a large quantity of filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I made this for a co-workers birthday. He really liked it, but I thought it was just ok. Next time I will only beat the egg whites to soft peaks. Stiff peaks are just too much. The consistancy was like rubber! Flavor was great though. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Made this in addition to the chocolate cheesecake as a lighter, more refreshing change. Was excellent - got lots of rave reviews. Using fresh juice vs. bottled is a must. I also added 2 drops of green food coloring. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I thought about only giving 4 stars, because making the custard was a bit of a pain...no double boiler, had to improvise.....it did not appear to be setting up for me, so I cheated and added a little cornstarch mixed into some juice to help it thicken. Worked great!! This is a great pie, and worth testing my patience! I will definately make again, especially in the summer! I followed the suggestions of "nanciejean" and used both lemon and orange juice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amateur Professional
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I used what organic ingredients I could and the taste of the lemon and zest really shines through quite beautifully in the chiffons light yet thick consistency. After leaving it in the fridge for an hour it was very nice, after three hours it was wonderful. I think this one just needs a little extra sitting time to get fully firm and then it's beautiful. I loved this lemon chiffon and so did everyone else who got a piece, the only thing I heard from anyone was that it was very lemony, but that's what I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States