Lemon Chiffon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I loved this pie! It was fairly easy and delicious. Definitely use only fresh lemon juice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenthecakelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was good and pretty easy. Not exactly what I was looking for, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I made this for a co-workers birthday. He really liked it, but I thought it was just ok. Next time I will only beat the egg whites to soft peaks. Stiff peaks are just too much. The consistancy was like rubber! Flavor was great though. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I know nothing about Chiffon Pies but it's what my mother requested so I went for it. I was surprised how light it was. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Giving it a 5 star, just 'cause I know next time I make it that's what it'll be. Not sure what I did or didn't do, but it would never get thick. I finally added a little corn starch and beat it with electric mixer while over double boiler. Also, unlike impatient me, you must let it cool pretty well before adding the whites, else it all gets a bit runny. After cooling in fridge for awhile was ok. I did make a gluten-free pie crust. Think I agree with other reviewer & will make whites into soft peaks instead of stiff. I do love the lemon, so will try again (& again!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I thought about only giving 4 stars, because making the custard was a bit of a pain...no double boiler, had to improvise.....it did not appear to be setting up for me, so I cheated and added a little cornstarch mixed into some juice to help it thicken. Worked great!! This is a great pie, and worth testing my patience! I will definately make again, especially in the summer! I followed the suggestions of "nanciejean" and used both lemon and orange juice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I actually have this recipe from an old cookbook. The only difference is that in that cookbook, they also add 1/2 cup of orange juice (and 1/2 tsp. of EACH orange and lemon zest, instead of just the 1 tsp. lemon zest). It is called citrus chiffon pie and has been my husband' favorite for 20 years. I use a regular pie crust as I find the the graham is too heavy (in texture and taste) for this sort of fluffy pie... and yes I have used the premade kind of crust when I am lazy...which is more often than not! I also cut the 1/2 sugar to 1/3 when you whip the whites to keep it sort of tart (the addition of orange isn't as sour). The orange + the lemon give it a very good flavor. Way better than lemon meringue with that pesky, squeaky meringue on top. I almost always use fresh lemon and orange juice, but have used the bottled kind and it is still good (just skip zest). I try to stick with organic if using zest, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Made this in addition to the chocolate cheesecake as a lighter, more refreshing change. Was excellent - got lots of rave reviews. Using fresh juice vs. bottled is a must. I also added 2 drops of green food coloring. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This is a favorite in my family. It has replaced lemon meringue pie because it's lighter and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
Fresh lemon juice is a must. Do not use reconstituted lemon juice because the flavor will be compromised. I'm blessed with a lemon tree in my backyard, and this is a great way to showcase my fruits. The use of a prepared graham cracker crust cuts down the workload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKUKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States