Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This is a fantastic easter cake that I make every year and for mothers day - I make the cake as directed, but use my own buttercream frosting and then cover it all with fresh grated unsweetened coconut (can find in frozen isle at stores where they carry a good internatonal section).Let the coconut thaw and its good to go. I haven't tried sweetened coconut, but this cake is so good just get creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I made this for a church luncheon and got rave reviews. I followed the advice in some of the other reviews to whip the yolks. Other than that I followed the cake directions in the recipe. For the filling, instead of lemon pie filling I made a batch of the Microwave Lemon Curd (also on this site) and folded that into the whipped cream instead. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I am baking a lemon cake for my father's birthday and was wondering if anyone had tried it in 9 inch pans. And if so, how many did you use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Great recipe. I adjusted the 3/4 water with 1/4 cup of lime juice and 2/4 cup of water. Since we love taking chiffon cake with ice cream or whipped cream, I didn't add the 1/2 cup of white sugar and only used the 3/4 white sugar in the egg white that was essential for the meringue. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
A good go to cake for any occassion. I like to be gratitious with the lemon rind so it has a nice fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtasia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This cake was light, moist and great. The cake looked so pretty I didn't put and frosting on it. I just pushed the layers down and squeezed out some of the filling. The second time a made it I made a whipped lemon cream cheese frosting and the family haven't stopped talking about it since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
It was ok...not bad...not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nefertari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I'm only rating the frosting since I used a store-bought angel food cake with this recipe. It was good, but I found the frosting a bit too sickly-sweet and rich. I think it would have been better with a little bit less pie filling and with some of the whipping cream replaced with something lighter - maybe a partial substitution with yogurt? Regardless, this was pretty good and seemed to go over well, but I probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is a WINNER! I have a lemon tree, so this was just perfect. This is the third time I have made this and it needs way more lemon juice. I would use NO water and all lemon juice!!! I did use just plain unbleached flour, and it was still light, tender and wonderful! For the icing, I used the "lemon Lover's pound cake icing from this site, and just drizzled it over the cake, put some lemon leaves under the cake for decoration along with a few slices of lemon and, wow! Picture perfect! I did put a small dab of yellow food color in the cake and also in the icing to make it look just a bit more yellow looking. It looked really professional and tasted incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Note: This review is for the cake only - I didn't make the filling. I made a trial run of this recipe while looking for a good base for a bday cake for my Chinese mom. This cake has a very similar texture to those light, airy cakes you can buy at Asian bakeries - perfect! I halved the recipe, used an 8" round pan, and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. I paired it with some fruit and stabilized whipped cream frosting, and it was heavenly! Some helpful tips: For those who are looking for in your FACE lemon flavor, be aware that the lemon in this is quite subtle, which I preferred. If you want stronger flavors, add some lemon extract along with a bit more zest. I also used half splenda and half sugar (I have diabetic family members), and it still came out great. I would highly recommend not substituting regular flour for the cake flour. One of the great things about chiffon cake is the texture. I think cake flour is what makes it so tender. Also for those who rated this recipe low because of a failed cake: there is absolutely nothing wrong with the recipe. Any failed cakes are due to personal error. If the cake comes out eggy, you're not folding the egg whites into the batter thoroughly. Make sure your batter is smooth and uniform in color before pouring it into the pan to bake. If your cake is collapsing or coming out flat, make sure that you're NOT greasing the pan. Having ungreased sides lets the cake "cling" better and thus rise higher. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States