Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This was one of the best cakes I've ever made. It's light and fluffy, also you can use low fat versions of ingredients and it still tastes great. I made a cream cheese-whipped cream frosting layered with lemon curd instead of the lemon frosting in the recipe. It was so good, even my friends who normally don't like cake wanted seconds. This is a great basic cake for all kinds of fillings and topings. The eggs take a long time to beat without an electric beater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Very easy to make. I baked this in a large rectangular tray (took 25 minutes)and didn't bother with cutting the cake in layers, just iced it all on top. I did do half water half lemon juice (it was still not as lemony as I would of liked) this cake is rather dry and really needs a "wet" icing/filling. This is more a lemon sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
i actually cut the recipe in half bc i didn't wanna eat too much cake and it came out great still. instead of lemon i used 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of almond extract. it rose well even divided into several ramekins. i ate it with some jam and and whipped cream. today i'll use some lemons when i make it. thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Hazel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This is an excellent cake. I have been making chiffon cakes of different types for years. This is the best lemon one to date and have topped it with blueberry sauce which seems to be enhanced by the lemon flavor. A keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
My first time trying out a chiffon cake. This recipe is fantastic! I half the recipe and used a 8 inch round cake pan instead. Thank you carol for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This tasted great. I used 'superfine' sugar, 1 tsp. lemon extract in place of zest and only added 4 egg yolks. I used the other 2 egg yolks in the Lemon Custard Filling, found on this site, that I made to replace the pie filling as I'm allergic to chemicals found in boxed products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I didnt think recipe had enough lemon so I added an extra tablespoon of zest but it still wasnt enough. Maybe if a 1/4 cup of lemon juice was added and less water it might be ok. I also cut back sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This cake was a bit of a disappointment. It was my first time making the cake and everything went great but none of my family members liked the taste very much and I spent a lot of time preparing the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This recipe is was very to make. It was lemony and light. I only cut the cake in half (to make 2 layers) and had just enough filling for that middle layer and the top/side of the cake. I had to cover up the sides as it didn't look very clean when I took it out of the pan! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I add up 1 teaspoon of lemon extract. And add baked coconut shredded on top. Normally I'm not big in Chiffon cake but my husband was begging for it ! And I agree it was delicious nice light mild flavor . My husband & son just called me from work,they'd die for it !! ( I packed some cakes for lunch box to go for them.) Thank you Carol for a wining prize recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States