Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This cake was so delicious! I made it as the birthday cake at my 2-year-old son's party. I did tweak a few things: I made a strawberry filling to put between the first two layers, used a lemon filling for the second two layers, and made vanilla buttercream to spread on the top and sides. For the lemon filling, I took another member's suggestion and used lemon curd mixed with the whipping cream, instead of lemon pie filling. (I couldn't find any jarred lemon filling at the store---just this creepy looking powdered stuff. The lemon curd turned out to be the perfect combination!) This cake was moist and flavorful, and was enjoyed by the kids and grown-ups, too. We paired it with dutch chocolate ice cream---Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I TRIED TO MAKE THIS CAKE, IT IS DELICIOUS BUT MY PROBLEM IS THAT IT DID NOT RISE... I USED A CAKE PAN INSTEAD OF A TUBE PAN... MAYBE THAT IS THE REASON WHY IT DID NOT RISE?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
The cake itself is very moist and fluffy but I made a few observations and changes that I would do next time. 1. It took less time to bake - more like 50 minutes - like another reviewer noted. My timer was set for 60 minutes but noticed it started to deflate at 50, so i took it out. 2. I used the filling suggested but it could be more lemony. I used Jell-o but would add either lemon zest or extract next time. 3. I added sliced strawberries on top of the top bottom layers (would use any fruits in season; mangoes would be very good, raspberries, very ripe peaches, etc.), then topped the last layer with the filling and halved strawberries arranged neatly. I also have fresh mint growing in my garden so used that in between the strawberry halves. It came out beautiful and was very impressed when 2 of the guests had seconds - and I sliced them really big too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I think there must be something missing in the directions. I followed them to the letter and ended up with a soggy, eggy cake that fell apart even before it cooled. It tasted like lemony scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I halved this recipe and baked it at 325 degrees (I have a hot oven) for 35 minutes in a 9-inch springform pan. The cake was perfectly done with just the right touch of moistness in the center. We ate it plain. It was tender, light, and not extremely sweet - perfect for a light ending to a heavy meal. Use a whisk instead of a rubber spatula for folding egg whites into the yolk mixture. It's so much faster and easier. Also, here's a tip for folding egg whites. CUT the whites into the batter, instead of using the flat side of the spatula to press them down. This DEFLATES them and cause your cake to later sink in the middle and become dense on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakedbyjen
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
A trick I learned which I used here is pulsing the lemon zest with the sugar in a mini chopper. The lemon becomes 10x more fragrant. Made my own lemon curd and frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NSUNRISE
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Very yummy! I did not make the filling, I did a layer of lemon curd and a layer of strawberry filling. Then I topped it with homemade lemon buttercream. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made the cake part of this recipe, and it was awesome! I substituted a gluten free flour mix (Tom Sawyer brand) for the cake flour and it still rose beautifully. I also added about a tsp of lemon extract to give it a little more lemon flavor. I filled the layers with store-bought lemon curd and frosted with a cream cheese lemon frosting. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Come out very soft and the taste is good although I reduced the sugar. I send as gift for my friend house warming. Tks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This cake was okay. The texture was perfect, albeit a little dry (I read *after* the fact that the baking time should be decreased a bit). The flavor was very similar to a pound cake--just bland and cakey--not overly lemony like I was hoping (I even added extra zest). The frosting was nice--the texture was great and the flavor was good, although it could have used more lemon, again. Overall, this cake *probably* will be eaten, but it won't go as quickly as other things I've made. It was a lot of work. I won't be making it again. Sorry! Again though, the texture was awesome--just don't bake it the full 60 minutes or it'll dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maurertown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States