Lemon Chicken Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This soup is simple yet so delicious. The lemon makes the broth taste outstanding. (Use only fresh lemon juice.) If you like really tasty soup, then this is it. (And thanks for a rare soup recipe that doesn't use milk or eggs!) I poached the chicken breats in some chicken broth before cutting them up & adding them to soup. I added a little more rice than is mentioned. I used fresh spinach but I think you could easily use frozen & it would come out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I thought this soup was very good. I made it with well-seasoned homemade chicken broth, and I did not have fresh spinach on hand, so I used frozen chopped spinach. I can tell that fresh spinach would give it a better flavor, so I will definitely not substitute next time. I served it with a Greek salad and warm, crusty bread, and I think it would also be very good as a first course with fish. Thank you for a flavorful, nutritious soup recipe - I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
It was good and easy way to use leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Nice flavor and overall a pretty good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This has a nice change of flavor from regular soup. The broth has a really good tang to it from the lemon, and the carrots and spinach make it pretty and taste great. I really wanted to use wild brown rice in this but I didn't have the time to go get some, but I'm sure it'll make this soup even better the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I love this soup. It is nice and light. I leave out the spinach and carrots, make a big batch and freeze in individual containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
this is different and very good. the lemon flavor is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Just loved this recipe! I couldn't use fresh lemons as recipe & reviewers suggested, which made me wonder if this could actually have been even better! Used 3T concentrated lemon juice which suited my taste buds perfectly. A "touch" of unexpected tang. Also added 2 celery ribs & 1 med. onion both chopped. A few chicken bouillon added as needed. Another reviewer made me think to use brown rice. Even added some of the broth to our dogs dinner bowl to his delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Vrey good recipe! Easy to make, and it take very little time to cook this soup. Everybody in my family liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ApplePieSF
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I love the taste of this soup, but I really think the instructions need some modification so that the rice and spinach aren't overcooked. Next time I will bring the mixture to a boil before adding the rice, then add the rice and simmer for 20 minutes, only adding the spinach in the last five minutes of cooking. I will definitely make this again though -- the flavor is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States