Lemon Chicken Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I LOVE this soup however, I don't care for it to be thickened so, I've made a few changes. I eliminate the eggs; add a 1/2 chopped onion, and I squeeze the juice of the lemons into the water. I also put a 1/2 a lemon rind in with the water and add 2 Bay leaves. Gives it a nice lemony flavor that tastes even better on Day 2. Lower in Cholesterol too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Too much lemon for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
So simple and SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was pretty tasty! I did use stock instead of water, and followed another reviewer's suggestion to add some onion and garlic to the broth while cooking. Additionally, I topped with some stewed carrots and celery - to add some color and texture. Next time, i would add some more broth, and cook the pasta separately to keep it from getting mushy. Thanks for the tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is good. It only has a few items in the soup so it tastes as if it lacks a little. It is quick and easy to make. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good! I ended up making chicken stock the day before like one of the reviews provided instructions for (whole chicken, whole onion, 2 stalks celery, bay leaves, salt, all spice), left overnight in the fridge. I also removed the meat from the chicken but needed to let it cool for a while first. The next day, I skimmed the stock and strained through a cheese cloth. Then I heated the stock, added the chicken and waited for it to boil, then added some elbow macaroni and the egg/lemon/stock mixture. We've never had this before but will add into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Was looking for a recipe to use up my orzo I had left ofver and this one fit the bill! Tasted just like liquid lemon chicken! I used two chicken breasts and boiled them in the chicken stock and then shredded it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I didn't have to change a thing about it! The soup became creamy and delicious after the eggs and lemon were added and was so perfect! Definitely don't make this if you don't like lemon - but I'm a lemon lover and it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Excellent change of pace soup! Quite refreshing and definitely a keeper! I, too, also added the chicken broth, garlic and onion! I didnt have the oroz on hand, so I substituted pasta shells. Worked well. Even the kids enjoyed it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Claremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I added garlic as someone suggested. Needed some seasoning, otherwise very filling and the lemon gives it a fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States