Lemon Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Delightful salad with a nice lemon flavor that is not too overpowering. I made the recipe as written, but the next time I make it I would use only 1/2 cup salad dressing. I also used thinly sliced water chestnuts because I didn't have almonds. Otherwise, I thought it was a very nice, summery recipe. I used a rotisserie chicken, and frozen snow peas, served it on a fresh tomato for my husband and he loved it. I ate mine on toasted 9 grain bread. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
We really liked this. I did use half the salad dressing and used lite sour cream, so I am hoping it didn't have 33g of fat. It was great on a really hot summer day. I served it on garden greens with a little oil and vinegar dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Very nice recipe - I made it as directed and would also reduce the Miracle Whip by 1/2, but otherwise really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was very good and easy too. I used canned chicken but have also used a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken from the supermarket too. Both work. Instead of Miracle Whip (which I hate) I used 1/2 low-calorie mayonnaise and 1/2 low-fat sour cream and upped the lemon, and it turned out delish!! Serving it on a tomato, as suggested by another reviewer, was a great idea and I've done that every time I make this. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Used fresh squeezed lemon juice. used seared chk breast in olive oil brwd on each side then cooked 5 min per side with covered lid . seasonings salt,pep, terderizer. god for one day only....letuce gets soggy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Very good ... halved the recipe based on how much leftover grilled chicken breast i had on hand; substituted Vidalia onion for the red onion, mayo for the Miracle Whip, fresh parsley instead of dried, tarragon rather than basil (realised at the last minute i had no basil on hand!), & 1 single serving bag of Bird's Eye Steam Fresh peas instead of fresh snow peas (just poured frozen peas into salad) ... husband says to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I halfed the amount of Miracle Whip and I thought the onions were overwhelming so I really didn't like it but the next day it tasted much better after sitting in the fridge for a day the strong onion taste was gone and the snow peas and almonds give it a crunchy fresh texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This is pretty good, and I have to say that putting shredded lettuce into the chicken salad mix is something new to me!I used 3 very large chicken breasts and diced half of a green pepper in place of the onion since my family does not care for onions. I will make again, only I will increase the amount of lemon pepper because it was not quite strong enough for us. But overall it was a nice change of pace on this hot day....but....if you want a chicken salad recipe that will totally knock your socks off try Fruity Curry Chicken Salad from this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Really fresh tasting for a spring lunch. I did make a few changes, though. It sounded like a lot of onion and my young son doesn't like it raw, so I omitted it. I used regular frozen green peas instead of snow peas. I also left out the lettuce and just served it with lettuce leaves on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Very good. I took it to a ladies luncheon and several ask for the recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Friberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States