Lemon Chicken Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
OMG, this is exactly what I was looking for. It's restaurant quality. The sauce is SO SO good and I think adding the lemon slices early on really makes it POP like you suggested with a beautiful fragrance and taste. My family was very impressed. UPDATE: Made this for my husband's business client and he asked for the recipe to take home. Also, someone said they thought the sauce was too acidic.. adding lemon slices in at the end only heightens the acidity, not tempers it. I happen to love the taste of lemon like this, but that's just me. Try adding some white wine to the first reduction, then add the chicken broth and go from there. That might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
When I make this recipe, I use Italian flavored bread crumbs, instead of flour, to dredge the chicken. Also pound the chicken breasts out a little so they cook faster. I use white wine instead of chicken broth for the sauce. This sauce really requires some tasting to check for tartness as it reduces. If it's too tart, add a small amount of sugar starting with a tsp. Chicken Picata is probably my favorite chicken dish and it's truly elegant and 'company' worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This dish is superb. Very light, low fat and the sauce has a lemon infusion that is simple, yet elegant. The lemon slices really do make a difference. Be sure you're adding them early or your sauce could be a bit more bitter. The oil from the rind of the lemon adds a tremendous lemony lift! I am adding this dish as an option to my menu for my clients. They'd pay good money for this. I agree with the others - it is definitely restaurant quality right at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuzie

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
The reason that this might taste bitter is because the white pith of the lemon when simmered becomes very bitter. You could just use a vegetable peeler and peel off just the yellow of the lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Perfect. Well, almost. I pounded the chicken breast first; really makes it tender. It takes less time to cook, so it doesn't get tougher and drier on the outside...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer_Cote

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinole, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I have not made this yet.....some quick thoughts. To stop the bitterness do not add the lemon slices to cook with the sauce, use lemon zest and finish with the butter, the white pith is what is making it bitter. Add lemon slice when serving. I also am going to try grilling the chicken and making just a quick lemon pan sauce with shallots, white wine, perhaps a riesling or pinot grigo and garlic, however; no chicken broth. I would not cut into medallions leave in breasts in tact. To thicken maybe a little cornstarch and water if necessary. I will let you know how it turns out. After making this, the grilling part probably not needed, pan frying would have been fine. The sauce I made was great only wish it had made more. Cornstarch not necessary. But a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
excellent. Very light even with the butter at the end. No bitterness from the lemon slices because I took them out after the first 7 mins of boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Wow, I do not know what I did wrong? I love chicken piccata. I followed the recipe exactly. But, the sauce was so bitter!!! Maybe, the lemons I used were the problem? I loved the cooked chicken before adding the sauce. It was both tender and crispy. I tried to fix the sauce by removing the lemon slices and adding white wine and a little extra butter. I served with rice and the person I ate dinner with ate all of theirs, but I couldn't get over the bitter bite still lingering. Although, he did not seem to notice for some reason. Make sure you use really fresh lemons! I believe that could have been the issue, but not sure? Great sauted chicken either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was excellent. The flavors were just perfect with just the right amount of lemon. I used a lemon pepper seasoning from Weber to add a little zest to this and increased the garlic some, but other than that made as written. Served with Jasmine rice, sliced tomatoes from the garden and garlic bread. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe, I couldn't get enough of the chicken the flavor was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Gilloren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Derby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States