Lemon Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
A great recipe for lemon lovers like me! But I have to agree that marinating for a couple of hours in the straight lemon juice is plenty. Overnight would be overkill and probably just about disintegrate the meat! Make sure you do use fresh lemon juice, as it imparts nice fresh flavor. One point to note: browning the chicken takes nowhere near 15 minutes - about 5 minutes is right. Adding the lemon slice & parsley is great too. I've made this twice now; once with the brown sugar (only about 1 tsp. for 3 breasts though) & once without. I don't really notice a big difference, but I guess it adds a nice touch. The sauce at the end is also very good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
This is soooooooo good! I will admit i made a few alterations based on past reviews. First of all, i did not marinate overnight, but rather placed the frozen chicken in the ziplock and let it thaw in the marinade. I took the chicken out mid afternoon. I browned it as per the direstions but then added the brown sugar to the stock rather than sprinkling it on top. I DID NOT reuse any of the marinade in the sauce, cause thats just gross! Instead i added a tbsp. of lemon juice. I cooked it uncovered so the sauce would reduce and it ended up coming out perfectly. It thickened nicely and looked delicious. I cant even describe how much my family loved this, and have been told i need to make this ALOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
I used my own recipe for lemon chicken, but I converted it to how this recipe was prepared (marinating overnite in lemon juice, then frying AND baking the chicken). It made my recipe 100 times better, so juicy, the chicken absorbing all that lemon flavor. You've forever changed the way I make this dish...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amydoll
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is the best lemon chicken I have ever had. However, I've tried marinating it for only a few hours and overnight, and I think it tastes better if it marinates a few hours. I've also found that this dish freezes well. Also, a funny story about making this.. one time I decided to add extra paprika and gave a few extra shakes of it into the flour mixture. After cooking it and tasting it I realized I'd grabbed CAYENNE PEPPER by mistake. Not good with lemon and brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Very tasty. I marinated the chicken for 2 hours & doubled the paprika. I drained the oil after removing the chicken & added all marinade & double the broth along with the brown sugar & 1 tsp of corn starch. Made plenty of delicious sauce to put on chicken! Served with brown rice/orzo on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Great recipe. The only alterations I made; half the amount of brown sugar and marinade in 1/2 cup lemon and enough olive oil and white wine to make another half cup. Oh, and i cut some fresh rosemary, which was a great addition! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Turners Falls, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This is the best Lemon Chicken I have ever tasted. I made this recipe For a dinner party and they demanded I email the recipe to some of the guests. I never have enough time to marinate overnite so I'm usually left with a few hours. I also double the sauce because its great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Great recipe! Though as we like spicy dishes I added one more tsp of paprika. Also for those out there wanting a more lemon taste dish it might help to do the following: after squeezing all the juice of 5 lemons (1 cup) put the lemons in a food processor and put the crushed skins through a sift. It should add 1/2 a cup of very strong lemon juice! I also put all the lemon juice with the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
I made this for dinner last night, and my husband and I both loved it! I found the recipe kind of last-minute, so I didn't get to marinate the chicken overnight (only for a half hour). Regardless, it turned out great! I was a little wary of adding brown sugar, but it definitely set this recipe apart from other lemon chicken recipes out there. Without question, I will prepare it again! Thanks, Megan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I loved this recipe! You can really taste the lemon init so if you like it sour this is the lemon chicken for you. My family loved. I will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States