Lemon Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
i didnt follow through with the batter but i did make the Lemon sauce...just a note, taste your sauce when it thickens if it isnt @ your desired flavor then add more of whatever it lacks.. i didnt have white sugar so i used Brown instead and used about 4-6 table spoons as well as 3-4 tables spoons of lemon juice ( didnt have real lemons)i also didn have chicken stock so i had to disolve chicken stock powder into a cup of hot water. all in all this is a good recipe! thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The batter didn't stick to the chicken at all--I ended up with little bits of burnt batter pieces and bare chicken breasts after cooking. I think it would have been good had the batter stuck. The sauce was pretty good, although I didn't let it cook long enough and it came out too thin--I'd suggest not rushing the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very good! I served this along with some rice. It was almost like a chinese dish. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tifton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I liked the recipe. Yes there was a problem with the batter staying on the chicken, but that could be caused by the heat of the oil. I probably would make smaller pieces of chicken. The lemon sauce was great and I can't wait to try my Meyer Lemon in this recipe. I made the recipe for 6 and there were 3 of us and no left overs. Everyone had ideas about using the lemon sauce for other things also. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
The lemon sauce is by far the best I have ever tasted. The only reason why I am only giving this four stars is because the recipe should not include the marinade. The marinade completely overpowered the lemon sauce. Please forget the marinade and you will agree that this is the best lemon chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I agree with other reviewers--this is a good base, but needs a little tweaking. Next time I will not add salt to the sauce (it was REALLY salty--I think the chicken broth would provide enough) and will add more lemon. The batter could also use more crunch...flour maybe? I'll make again, but with the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Loved it! The batter for the chicken is perfect. I added a little extra lemon to the sauce because I like it tarter. Rave reviews from my family. We will make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
ok, sorry, maybe it's me. The batter didn't stick and made just clumps of batter in the wok. I had to add another tablespoon of corn starch to make it anything like a sauce. The chicken with it's marinade tasted weird. I don't think i'll even bother trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I'm pretty confused as to why this recipe is getting such excellent ratings. I order lemon chicken quite a bit at Chinese restaurants, and this recipe doesn't come out as expected. I made the recipe, without any changes, and was disappointed. My chicken was edible, but not lemon chicken. As I suspected, the sherry in the marinade was too strong, overpowered the delicacy of the lemon, and was generally out of place in the recipe. The batter was lovely, but pretty unsuitable for the recipe, unless sauced very lightly at the last minute (anything else and such a light batter loses its crunch). Hence, the sauce should be made first, then fry the chicken and drizzle sauce over hot chicken. Lastly the sauce was lovely, but other reviewers are right, the lemons shouldn't be added until the last minute. I'll definitely make this recipe again, but this time with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I have been to plaenty of chinese restaurants in LA, SF, Phoenix, etc., and this is as good as it gets. The marinade is a great idea that although subtle, really adds to the overall flavor. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASU_DEVIL_WPCAREY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States