Lemon Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Kids and family liked it a lot. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I've made this several times now, and I always look forward to the meal! Sliced green bell peppers or red onions give it added color. The only change I make is that I add as little salt as possible - the soy sauce adds plenty by itself. I use low-sodium chicken broth, OR just water with a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a good recipe but I made a couple of changes. First, instead of sherry I recommend using mirin, rice wine or even just a dry white wine for the marinade. For the sauce start by sauteing garlic and ginger in oil. Deglaze the pan with wine and add the rest of the ingredients. I also used the juice of two whole lemons. Pour the sauce over the chicken just before serving. Turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was a good recipe and one I will make again. It may even keep my husband from going out for Chinese! I did make a few changes. I cut up chicken into strips, coated and fried. I added a tsp of fresh minced ginger and increased lemon juice to 5 Tablespoons. I stirred all the ingredients in a pot and heated to low simmer for 4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
So completely wonderful! I am an American girl living in the UK and crave all things American so this recipe was such a blessing. I thought it might be hard to make but it was so simple and absolutely delicious, even if I was in America I would still make this recipe it's that good! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melisa Richbourg
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I read reviews before starting recipe. I cut and marinated chicken before cooking. Based on other reviews, I did not add salt to marinating chicken. I used about 3/4 to 1 cup oil in a cast iron skillet and cooked in batches, held in the oven at 150 until all was done. I poured sauce over chicken before serving as suggested by one reviewer but sauce did not penetrate coating enough. Next time, I will do as original recipe suggests and toss chicken and sauce together before serving. Overall an excellent recipe that you can play with. I'm going to try it with my homemade General Tsao sauce. The batter was fabulous and not sure why another reviewer found batter too delicate. This was just like a good Chinese buffet. I added lemon zest and doubled lemon in sauce. This meal was devoured by all. It got a suburb rating from both 8 yo son and DH. I did find that I had to salt the meal when eating and would salt chicken while marinating when I do this recipe again this week. Would have given 5 stars but chicken should be cut before cooking to maximize batter coating and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Richbourg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made a lot of changes to this recipe. Everyone said they didn't like the batter so I did my own, flour with lemon pepper seasoning. I marinated the chicken in 3 Tbs. soy sauce, 1 tsp. sherry, 1 tsp. ginger root, and 2 tsp. lemon zest. Also, I thought the sauce should have been sweeter, like orange sauce, but for lemon, so I added juice from 2 lemons, and added a lot of sugar, like 2/3 cup. When the chicken was done frying, I tossed it in a large mixing bowl with the sauce and some lemon slices, it was seriously good, my husband told me this recipe was a keeper, thanks for the great idea, sorry I made so many changes to this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was a very simple straightforward dish. The flavor was very good, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It tastes just like a lemon chicken dish that my brother loved when we lived in Hawaii. He passed away 11 years ago and I have been looking for a recipe that resembled it. While I was making this, I knew it was the one by the smell and look of the sauce and immediately got choked up and called my family and sent them the recipe. It tastes wonderful, I wouldn't change a thing!! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe was great with a couple little changes. First I zested the lemon and added the zest to the sauce for a stronger lemon flavor. Also the batter needs to be thickened a bit. I also cut the chicken into bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States