Lemon Chess Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I have been looking for a lemon chess pie recipe like that used by Rich's (a Southern dept. store) years ago. This one is pretty darn close. :-) I used evaporated milk and the juice of three lemons rather than just two. The next time I make it, I'll reduce the sugar a little, because it *was* a little sweeter than I remember. A standard 9" pie crust was a little too shallow for the custard - next time, I'll try a deep-dish pie crust. And I'm still trying to work out the perfect baking time. All in all, this is a great recipe - with a little tweaking, I think it'll be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a strange pie. There were 2 seperate layers one sort of custardy and the other more like a lemon curd texture. Not what I expected at all. My husband loves lemon pies but he did not care for this. Sorry, but I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKI810

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Don't know if I just didn't do it right but this pie did not turn out great. The texture is not quite what I expect from lemon chess pie very lumpy not smooth and also is a little to sweet. Lemon chess is my fathers favorite, I'll keep looking because this is not the one for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
A wonderful Pie... loved making it - loved eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This pie was good but turned out a little "gritty" and was not as creamy as I would have liked- I did substitute evaporated milk for regular milk. Not as good as the "Bill Clinton Lemon Chess Pie" as I made both to find the best recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RN4HEARTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quinton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Agree with other reviewers that this pie is very easy to make. Used evaporated milk (for extra creaminess) and added grated rind from one lemon (for more lemon flavor). My family enjoyed it, although I found the filling a little too sweet. The pie is also very good eaten cold. Baked for approximately 25 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Excellent and easy to make. For a deep-dish pie shell, increase ingredients by 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Thank you so much. I had a similar recipe from my Grandma but lost it in a fire and have been searching for years. This is the best pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
My husband and his co-workers ate this right up. It was easy to make...what is lemon chess?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States