Lemon Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Great recipe. I wish I read reviews first because I think it would of been better if I added in lemon rind. I wanted more of a lemon taste but it was still delicious. I did use two regular eggs and baked mine with a tray of hot hot water on the shelf below it in the oven. Mine baked in 45 min. No cracks and it looked beautiful topped with dollops of cool whip and fresh lemon slices. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
I have made this cheesecake four times since finding the recipe last month, and am constantly getting asked for the recipe - a guy at work paid me $10 to make him one! I added 1 tsp. of vanilla and a pinch of salt, plus the zest from the lemon. I use 1 package fat-free cream cheese, and 1 low-fat, then garnish the top with cool-whip dollops and fresh lemon slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Unbelievable! This cheesecake is SO good. It reminds me of the lemon cheesecake I used to always get at The Cheesecake Factory until the discontinued it. I made only minor changes to the recipe: I added the zest of one lemon, used crushed Nilla Wafers for the crust instead of graham crackers because I prefer the flavor, and I used two eggs instead of the egg substitute. I baked it using the water bath technique described in one of the allrecipes.com articles. This is phenomenal cheesecake. I can't wait to make it again. You really can't go wrong with this. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This recipe turned out great, with my own modifications. I made the graham cracker crust from scratch and I added 1 tsp. lemon zest to it. I also substituted the egg substitute for 2 eggs. It kind of takes away from being low fat, but it tastes better. The cheesecake turned out excellent on its own, but it did need something. So I made a lemon-blackberry sauce. Here is the recipe: 2 C. blackberries, 2 tsp. vanilla, 1/4 C sugar, 1/4 C water, 1 tbsp. lemon juice. Combine all ingredients, while the sauce is cooking smash the balckberries with a masher. Bring the sauce to a boil and simmer on low 10 minutes. Strain the berry sauce over a bowl. The sauce in the bowl will be seedless and very yummy over the cheesecake. I made 4 of them over the Easter holiday and they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
Very tasty and easy. I made it for Easter. I used 2 eggs instead of egg sub., and custard style lemon yogurt. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GuineaPigGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Absolutly wonderful! I made a few revisions as did others, I couldn't find lemon yogurt so I used plain yogurt and added extra lemon zest, I also used two whole eggs. I used a homemade graham crust in a springform pan which I sprayed with PAM before adding the batter to prevent it from sticking to the sides and cracking in the middle along with the use of a water bath. I was surprised my cake baked perfectly in only 30 minutes! Will defenitly make this time and time again. I finished it with a thin layer of Cool Whip and lemon zest curls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuineaPigGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Wonderful! I used 2 eggs in lieu of egg substitute. Also baked it in ramekins (crustless) in a water bath following the "all recipes" hints for cheesecakes (water bath, jiggle test, texture photo etc). Prior to serving, topped it with Blackberry preserves and fresh blackberries and served for brunch dessert. Will make again. Super easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
If you are really into cheescake, and not the Jello kind, then this one won't do it for you. It's not very rich and you can easily tell that it's trying to be low fat. I also added extra lemon zest to give it more flavor, and it was still kind of flavorless. It's okay if you're not expecting much, but I don't do ho-hum desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Excellent with modifications. I made a crust out of graham crackers and butter, adding in about a tsp of lemon zest. I used low fat Yoplait lemon yogurt -- it's only 6 oz. so I added about 2 oz. of lemon curd. Also, added about a TBS of lemon zest to the pie itself to make it really lemony. I used regular cream cheese which made it very creamy and two regular eggs. Needs the sour cream topping as suggested by another reviewr. Really good and lemony. A water bath is recommended below the pie to avoid cracking. I've had requests to make this again and will update!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My family loved this recipe. It's really easy and, if you want to change the flavor, you can use different flavored fat free yogurts. I've tried strawberry and vanilla, and they were both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States