Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Great cake!! I used a lemon cake and added a few tablespoons of fresh lemon juice in place of some of the water in the cake. My coworkers gobbled this up and my boss wanted the recipe after I took this to a work luncheon. Will definitely make again, very refreshing and light tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Delicious!! Used lemon cake mix (and the lemon pudding!)...perfect - you HAVE to use lemon cake mix. Also, we like to eat cake cold, it really is so good right out of the fridge, you've got to try that. Made an American flag on top w/ strawberry slices and blueberries for the 4th of July yesterday...so cute! :) My sister said that this is now her favorite cake of ALL TIME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I made this for my daughter's birthday and everyone loved it! Used 9 x 13 pan, lemon cake mix, and lemon pudding. As someone else said, be sure to beat batter for the full time and cake will rise nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I used a lemon cake mix and made it according to the directions on the box except I added a box of instant lemon pudding mix and the juice one lemon. Then I used lemon pudding instead of vanilla with the Cool Whip for the topping. Excellent! My husband loves lemon desserts and thought this was very good. Not too sweet. Very fresh and light. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Surferess
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a truly wonderful cake. Any person who would rate this cake only 3 stars probably didn’t cook it correctly! I used a lemon cake and vanilla pudding for the frosting. I do not have lemon extract, so I used zest and fresh juice of 2 lemons. If you are substituting for the extract, it is important to taste the frosting and make sure it is lemony enough. If not, keep adding zest and lemon juice until it is. I split the cake into 2 layers and sprinkled yellow non-parielles all over the top and served each piece with a fresh raspberry. (See Photo.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surferess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
I had trouble making the cake because i tried to use 2-9" pans instead of the 10x15 dish... they were so moist that they fell apart when i tried to take them out of the pans! But once i reconstructed them, iced and refrigerated the cake, WOW! It was fabulous. I used lemon cake mix instead of yellow, and also lemon pudding in the frosting instead of vanilla. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I'm an avid baker, and this is a fabulous recipe. Everyone loved it when I served it at my husband's birthday party. I increased the amount of lemon extract, grated lemon rind into the whipped cream, and shaved some white chocolate onto the top. Best cake I've ever made!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I bake alot, and this cake a terrible. Followed the instructions on this recipe and it was heavy and barely rose. Glad I did a practice cake before bringing this to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
The cake was very nice. I used the lemon cake mix like everyone suggested and added the juice of 1 lemon plus the zest of 1/2 lemon to the water. The only problem I had with it was that it didn't grow very tall. I used the required 10x15 pan and the cake was only an inch thick. There simply wasn't enough batter. I was making it as a birthday cake for my FIL and was forced to make another batch and it ended up being an enormous layer cake...which worked out good considering I was feeding a party of 18 people. I used a whipped citrus frosting (lemon and orange) instead of the cool whip, which gave it a really nice touch. Overall it was a real hit with the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
A hit with my family! Light, moist, and flavorful. As others suggested, used lemon cake and lemon pudding, also substituted 1/4 c of water for lemon juice, and also zest of one lemon-divided between cake batter and icing. Made a tiered 9" round cake, and layered with raspberry filling. Simple fruit filling recipe: use Polander seedless all-fruit spread, any flavor, microwave jar for approx. 30secs, and add in small box jello, in same flavor as fruit spread (I used all sugar free and fat free add-INS), whisk, cool completely (can even place in freezer for 10 mins), then spread on cake with desired layers. So quick and simple-intense fruit flavor, and perfect spreadable texture, without soaking into even this moist cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States