Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
This cake was great- easy and low fat! I used egg white substitute and reduced calorie yellow cake mix and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
I had trouble making the cake because i tried to use 2-9" pans instead of the 10x15 dish... they were so moist that they fell apart when i tried to take them out of the pans! But once i reconstructed them, iced and refrigerated the cake, WOW! It was fabulous. I used lemon cake mix instead of yellow, and also lemon pudding in the frosting instead of vanilla. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This recipe was very good. The icing was amazing. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This cake was excellent!! It was one of the best cakes I've ever had (and I'm usually not really crazy about cakes). I made it for work and everyone loved it! When I told them that it was low fat, they couldn't believe it. I definitely recommend this to anyone who likes lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
Refreshing and delicious. I followed a suggestion on another review and used a lemon cake mix. I didn't have any lemon extract, so I mixed 1 can of lemon pie filling with the whipped topping for the topping on the cake. I didn't have a 10X15 inch pan, so I used an 11X14 inch pan which worked just as well. This cake was very moist and was a big hit with my family. I will definitely be keeping this recipe. It will be great for summer get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This is a VERY good cake! The frosting is amazing! On thing to note though...I baked it in a 9 X 13 pan for my daughter's birthday and it didn't puff up as much as I expected. In fact, I thought it had fallen. I was going to throw it out and make another but cut a piece out of the center first and saw it was fine. I'm SO glad I didn't throw it out because it was a BIG, BIG hit. Next time I'll be prepared! It's a VERY moist cake and super yummy! I'm looking for an excuse to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Very flavorful and moist. The lemon flavor was just right!! I would for sure recommand it and make it again. I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I cannot express how much this recipe is loved in my circle of family and friends! It is the absolute hit of every function I make it for. My best friend, who has "birthday pies" because she hates cake even loves this cake! What's best, it's super easy to make! Try this cake, I'm sure you will love it as much as we do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This recipe was okay, but not great. It was not very lemony - mostly a vanilla flavor. If I were to make it again, I think I'd try using a lemon cake mix (instead of yellow cake), and lemon pudding mix in the frosting (instead of vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I made this for Easter dinner, everyone loved how cool, light and creamy it was. I made it using 3 disposable aluminum 8-inch round pans, anticipating problems removing them. NO PROBLEMS! I doubled the frosting recipe and had plenty, plus used lemon cake mix and lemon pudding mix throughout at the suggestion of previous reviewers. It was great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States