Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This cake is amazing! I've made it several times and always receive amazing compliments. But i also made some adjustments: whip your own heavy cream instead of cool whip, then blend in mixer with pudding mix, don't fold - the texture and rich taste is as good as any professionally done bakery. I also grated two lemons into the whipped cream. Also and per other suggestions, I used 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice as a substitute for full water in the batter. I make this as a double layer cake. Don't expect to rise - it won't. But do mix at high speed as suggested to aeriate the batter. The outcome is a nice size double layer cake that has a very light texture - not heavy like a pound cake. Emjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! I used lemon pudding for both the cake & the topping because we enjoy the tangy lemon taste all the way through the dessert. Took to my ailing neighbor & their family loved it too. Winner all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDlargirl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I made this cake today. As advised by other readers I used lemon cake mix, lemon pudding mix and added 1/3 lemon juice. Trying to make it more yummy I added 1/2 vegetable oil and used 3 whole eggs. The cake was good and moist but not "lemony" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I am afraid to say that I was disappointed with this recipe. It just didn't have that refreshing lemony taste that I was looking for even though I doubled the amount of lemon extract called for. I took it to a family gathering and brought most of it home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I followed to the tee and did not like the heavy, congealed feel this cake had. Seemed more like I was eating bread pudding. It did not have the knockout lemony kick I was hoping for either. Had to fill the cupcake tins almost to the top, the first batch were well below the paper. Also did not pull away from the paper very well. So, wouldn't recommend cc paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Yummy cake! After reading many reviews, I made the frosting with sugar free lemon pudding and used part water part lemon juice for the cake along with a lemon cake mix. Tasted moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITGREEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I made this cake for the first time today. It was wonderful. Very easy. I used lemon cake mix and lemon pudding. In the filling and in the cake. I used fresh squeezed lemon in the filling in exchange for 1/3 of the water. I also used 1 whole egg and 2 whites instead of 3 whites. I used fresh squeezed lemon instead of extract. It was a great success . Best Lemon cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anitavan65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This recipe turned out completely flat! I followed the recipe exactly except for adding a teaspoon of lemon zest. The taste was flat and so was the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Yummy! But for even more lemony deliciousness use a lemon cake mix in place of the yellow mix - you will be so happy you did! I also added some fresh lemon juice to the water (totaling the 1 3/4 cups called for in the recipe) and some lemon zest. This is so refreshing, light and delicious there won't be a crumb left on the plate, guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made a two layered version with a lemon cake mix and used a rasperry spread with a raspberry jello packet mixed in between the two layers....was sooo good and a huge hit at the birthday party. I was sad that I didnt have any left to take home so already have the supplies to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States